Wine all Day, Beer all Night

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

This weekend I was lucky enough to spend my birthday in Paso Robles, California. We toured wineries all day, and drank Beer all night. Paso Robles is the site of Barrelhouse Ales, and we EMPTIED their fridge!!! This was all I had left to bring home.

barrelhouse.jpg

During the day we stayed at the Wild Coyote vinyard. It was raining, but very pretty grounds nonetheless.

paso robles.jpg

We also toured Tobin James. I absolutely need to make my tasting grounds at home, look as unique as this! Look at the rock design!

tobin james.jpg

After the wineries we stopped at Barrelhouse Brewery, and at Tin City (ciderhouse), for a fridgefull of beers to take home to the house. Beer and Gaming are compulsory! Here is a picture of our sampling for the evening. (Yes that is a giant bottle of Anchor on the right. It was a special edition Brandy Barrel aged stout and was AMAZING....but were trying to focus on Barrelhouse here.

killed.jpg

Games played: lots of Catan (pictured below), Exploding Kittens, Solo, Ticket to Ride, and...Axis and Allies!! (just kidding about A&A....that one was only in my dreams). By the way...drinking beer after wine is a great way to avoid a hangover. Its a mild "hair of the dog" treatment because you're going from about 15% to 7-8%. Its always worked for me.

catan.jpg

My favourite of the Barrelhouse beers was Sweet Wild of Mine. A "Sweet Flanders Red Sour Ale aged in French Oak". 6.8% ABV. I like the tartness typical of a flanders style beer. The smooth berry flavor is pleasant with the soft acidity. There is mild carbonation, and a supe subtle vanilla flavor in the aftertaste (I guess thats from the French Oak). It says vintage 2015 so i'm nto sure if that means it was aged from 2015 until bottling time. It was pretty pricy at $15 but hey its my birthday. We bought the whole fridge.

Picture before opening......wait for it.......
bh1.jpg

.....ahhhh the pour! No head on this one at all. This one pours just like my favorites at Rodenbach.
bh.jpg

And now i'm deep into junkie territory. I'm hooked on expensive beer! gaah! I will spend my last child's university dollar on this. I hope trade school is still an option!

Sort:  

It was such a fun weekend! We got through a lot of beer. 😉🍻

definitely looks juicy, upvoted and resteemed, CHEERS !

Thanks as always!

This looks like a amazing night, you have great taste in brews, the barrelhouse stuff looks really interesting.

Your children should become brewmasters! Everything solved. Looked like a wonderful trip. If you're into expensive beers, try most anything from Lost Abbey - if you can find it, I've always found it to be worth it. Nice post, thanks.

I am glad you had a great birthday, congratulations.

Normally on wine 2015 would mean it was bottled in 2015!! That is a 3 year old beer, no wonder the expensive price!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66836.85
ETH 3510.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19