Dracula's Night Binge!

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

This week I review the best beer in Hungary. Ok, its actually from Transylvania. It really does beat every Hungarian beer (maybe a tie with Dreher) in drinkability. It is a little expensive, but whats a few bucks for a Transylvanian beer right? The minions had to export it out of the castle, so there's some cost added there.

csiki.jpg

Like every good Hungarian, Transylvania (Erdély on the map) is a place I've been trying to get down to for about half my life now, but I haven't done so yet. Its not a place you can just zip down to. Its a very long drive from Budapest, with windy roads once you get there. Its an extended-excursion to say the least. I will try again next year when i'm in the neighborhood.

hungarymap.jpg

The beer is called Csiki (pronounced "cheeky"), and its a pale lager at 6% with a dry mouthfeel on the aftertaste. It has a sweet herbal aroma, but pale bitter lager taste. The body is not so light..maybe medium I would say. All in all the beer is...just ok. And yes I said this is the best [commercial] beer in Hungary which should tell you the quality is not that good overall (although there is finally a rise of smaller craft breweries now).

The other label says "Tiltott Sör", which means Forbidden Beer. Curiously it also says Brewed Since 1540. I have no way to verify that but I want to believe it.

IMG_2106.JPG

In the super hot summer though, I'd down this beer anytime, and my friend here would agree. We even took some to the zoo.

transylvanian-beer-tell-me-more.jpg

Sort:  

I want to try a beer from Transylvania! It looks and sounds amazing. I love the cloudiness of it.

Great review mate. It's very odd that 53 votes only got you $1.44 in pay-out.

I guess with the price of SBD going down no one's vote is worth anything anymore :(

Yeah, I saw a review this morning with 18 votes and $.04 pay-out. A lot of votes just floating in the air.
But, with enough beer , things will pick up. The review was great. I'm with mazzle: I gotta try a beer from Transylvania. Obviously unique (well, in my part of the world) and it looks good too. Thanks for a nice review.

Upvoted and Resteemed to our page, CHEERS !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.90
ETH 3519.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38