Brewery Review - Blue Pants Brewery

in #beersaturday6 years ago

20180729_164717.jpg

Travelling to Huntsville, Alabama again for work this week. I have now sampled all of the breweries in the Huntsville-Madison area. In order of my preferences, here they are. I recommend visiting the top 4 for sure.

Yellowhammer
Straight to Ale
Rocket Republic
Blue Pants
Salty Nut
Mad Malts
Innerspace
Green Bus
Black Bear

Blue pants barely made it into the top 4. They have some solid beers. They also, have a house distillery, so they also server cocktails. Kinda out of the norm, but hey. cool.

20180729_165934.jpg

I got the six beer taster, and this is where I was already set back a bit. They serve them in plastic cups. Not good. Also I'm not crazy about their logo, and the colors remind me of Pabst Blue Ribbon. I tried to get that image out of my head.

20180729_165143.jpg

Once i got past all that however, the beer was above average. My favourite overall was the dry hopped sour, but the gose and the watermelon gose (tastes like you lightly salted a watermelon) were quite nice. The Nitro Nibs and Nitro English Ale were good too but its way too hot outside to have too much of that right now. I ordered another dry hopped sour.

20180729_165845.jpg

Checking untappd, I saw that one of their top rated beers was a Smoke Beer! I love Smoke Beers! unfortunately, they dont make it anymore. They still had an empty bottle though, and a photograph and wishful tasting was all I got.

20180729_172108.jpg
The Place has a vibe of locals going there after work for happy hour, rather than for the evening. There is no food (points docked!), and the place was quite empty (granted I was there on a Tuesday afternoon). I get the feeling they sell most of their beers at the local grocery store rather than the brewery itself; I did see several of the beers at a local Kroger. Or maybe they just drive that bus around.

20180729_173357.jpg

Overall This place is ok. I would rather hang out at Yellowhammer or Straight to Ale. But I'm glad I checked this off my list, and I wish them well. Apparently they were the very first brewery in Huntsville, which dates them back 15 years or so.

20180729_164700.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27