Bizarre Icy Beer Trick

in #beersaturday5 years ago

Last night, I was in a bar in Thailand, (don't all the best stories start that way?!) with the wife, (so no, not one of those stories!) meeting some of her old friends from Songkhla who now live in Bangkok and one of her friends ordered a round of Asahi which is a fairly dry Japanese beer I rather like, and this is how it was served......

IMG_20190212_191003.jpg

Without putting too fine a point on it, it was the colour of cat urine, and it was a foamy, slushy, frozen mess.
Now I am an ignorant foreigner to the core when it comes to beer and refuse point blank to even have the ubiquitous ice cubes in my beer so this was an absolute abomination!

Basically they freeze a glass with about 2cm of water in the bottom, they also cool the bottles of beer to just above freezing. When its poured, it turns into a thick slush as it hits the cold glass.

However, there was one cool trick this beer could perform........

IMG_20190212_191118.jpg

That's right, you tip it up and it didn't pour out!
My mind raced, imagine how useful this is for those late nights when you've perhaps had one too many. Instead of spilling your beer, possibly on someone else and maybe even getting punched, they served drunk people these and there would be no spilt beer and no fighting! It's like 'Beer for Peace'.......

Perhaps frozen slushy beer isn't so bad after all......

@nathen007

Sort:  

How did it taste? (Not sure you tried it)

Posted using Partiko Android

hi mate. Of course I drank it even though it was terrible! Englishmen never leave their beer even if its terrible. Especially when someone else bought it lol ;-)

Glad that you tried it - but sad to hear that it was terrible! The idea was cool, but not very useful in terms of taste.

Posted using Partiko Android

곰돌이가 @glory7님의 소중한 댓글에 $0.015을 보팅해서 $0.008을 살려드리고 가요. 곰돌이가 지금까지 총 3120번 $37.507을 보팅해서 $38.936을 구했습니다. @gomdory 곰도뤼~

We call it snow beer and on a hot n awful day like today it looks heavenly.. Here's a thing try the wheat beers and squeeze ur favourite citrus into it, or do the michelada style where you mix tomato juice, lime, spice, pepper into the snow beer.. Basically a bloody beer, corona like beers are best but any pilsner will do..

Oh and the ice cubes do prevent dehydration and next day hangovers if having a massive drinking event it's actually tolerable for me.. Years ago I might have gotten really pissed off about ice in my beer but life on the equator changes a man..

I've been here 8 years and never seen this before. In my little local Saturday night bars they use a frozen glass for me without the ice at the bottom, but Im Eng!ish. We are used to warm beer lol
I don't drink a lot but you're right about the dehydration so I always have a seperate bottle of water anyway.
@d0zer is fro Belgium. I'm sure he'd hate it! Beer and chocolate, and both the best in the world. What else does a man need ?

I'm no stranger to warm beer myself, a nice chocolate stout sounds pretty amazing about now.. I do love any beer, and attempt to only imbibe on the weekends but a recent professional shift back into the music Industry has my schedule all upside down and a beer could happen anytime. No complaints here..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Not a huge fan of this idea. It just waters down your beer.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Dear @nathen007

I just read your memo. I'm sorry to hear that you're upset for me supporting cause I believed is right. I really didn't think anyone could look at that initiative the way you did.

Obviously as you requested, I will not bother you again and you won't hear from me in the future. As requested.

Best of luck
Piotr

I have no objection to the cause obviously. I dislike the initiative you laid out and the person you are supporting. I didnt think anyone could support or promote such a person the way you do. I love the way Steem and its community can reach out to people in need.Its beautiful but there needs to be checks and balances. It leaves bad taste when someone who recieves so much of the reward pool from at least 2 accounts using spun and re-hashed unoriginal work asks others for money and support. If he wants to be seen as a community member then you may suggest he drops his ego and tries reading and commenting on others work instead of his endless greed and self promotion.
As for his @nothus account . They are here for no other reason than to grab as much cash as possible.
Thank you for taking the time to reply. That is appreciated.

!sbi status

Hi @nathen007!

  • you have 102 units and 250 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 1309728118237 or 0.620 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.124 $

!sbi status

Hi @nathen007!

  • you have 129 units and 250 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 1614645053541 or 0.778 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.156 $

Dear @nathen007

The truth is, I promote 2-3 publications every weekend. Im looking for quality content related to my interests (blockchain and psychology mostly) and I'm sharing link to those posts with everyone who engaged with me in the past.

Whenever someone doesn't like it - Im making sure not to bother such a person.

I didnt think anyone could support or promote such a person the way you do

For reason mentioned above - I cannot really know everyone I'm helping on Steemit. Did this person do something wrong that I should know about? I would really appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to reply. That is appreciated.

You're very kind and polite. Respect.

Yours
Piotr

Hi @nathen007!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.305 which ranks you at #2600 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 16 places in the last three days (old rank 2616).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #56.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey @nathen007, great beer post.

If you add a few more pics and a bit more story - this would be perfect for the #BeerSaturday challenge.

Than just add your post link to my weekly challenge post.

Week 88 is here https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/88-beers-and-a-buddle-of-rum-enjoy-the-steemit-beersaturday-challenge-in-week-88 and week 89 will start late Tuesday or Wednesday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25