Time for the USA... Everyday amber lagers.

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

I’m more excited about this #beersaturday, because I won the last week’s issue. Wow... haven’t really expected that! This contest is really great and I will continue to take part of it. But now... it’s time for beer again, this week: American amber lagers!

Design.png

Well... my girlfriend went to the USA recently, where she had a work for a couple of days. So let’s have a little quiz... Guess who got beers for present. Of course, me! She brought me two local beers, which were not sold in six-packs. And she did not have the chance to visit specialized craft beers shops, so I received this two bottles...

IMG_0660.jpeg

  • Samuel Adams Boston lager.
  • Yuengling Traditional Lager.

Well... I will try to be short on my review.

To be honest, before I try the beers I was somewhat sceptic about them. I would say that they are just regular everyday convenient store beers. And after all my girlfriend doesn’t have a lot of a knowledge about beers, so... let’s see what’s in my glass...

IMG_0663.jpeg

Samuel Adams Boston lager!
After the first sip: Woooow! Are you kidding me? Is this beer really an average everyday beer?
Great maltiness, medium body, a little bit sweeter and very thick. Some citrussy and flower/pine hops are presented. American hops for sure! After the second and the third sips I continue to become even more amazed... never thought, that this is one would bare such a good quality. And the foam... the head retention was excellent, maybe because my glass has a bubble-making scratches on the bottom. LOL... this is very enjoyable indeed! Anyway, look at the lacing of this beer!
IMG_0664.jpeg

Enough... it was a very well enjoyed beer. A greatly enjoyed beer! Now to the next one - Yuengling Traditional Lager.

IMG_0665.jpeg

After the first sip: Are you kidding me??? Did I just opened a bottle of carbonated water? Whaaaaat?
If this can be called beer, than I MUST be called Batman. No aroma, no taste, no aftertaste. Even the Bulgarian cheapest beers have a lot of taste in them, compared to this one. This is a complete opposite to the Boston lager, and it can be easily drunk during a hangover and in the early morning... just for hydration. I found it difficult to finish in the evening, although that it was a 330 ml bottle. Not anymore!

The joy with this one was to take some photos of the bubbles... and maybe I liked it’s color more. A bit darker and amber-ish, compared to the Beer!

IMG_0666.jpeg

IMG_0669.jpeg

IMG_0667.jpeg

Well... I will not tell you which one is better. I will leave your imagination play with your mind. Just make sure you open a beer and join the #beersaturday weekly contest. Here are some more experimental and “backstage” photos:

IMG_0662.jpeg

IMG_0658.jpeg

IMG_0661.jpeg

Cheers!

Sort:  

what a read. you seem to be a beer taster and master.

I think the first one you had was for the men and the other beer which is very lighter was for the ladies. funny enough i wrote on beer yesterday. take a look and thanks for sharing

Actually I'm giving my best to educate more about beer, the qualities of this golden liquid, and the off flavors which may occur in the final product. Next month I'm attending an off-flavor and sanitize course and eventually I will become an international beer judge. Wow... so excited about that now!

Cheers!

Excellent. Wish you all the best. Let's keep in touch 😎

Great photos as always, and a great review!! Great contrast between a crap beer and great one..

Thanks for commenting!
Cheers!

Congratulations! Well done.
I enjoyed this review. I think Sam Adams is fairly well regarded here. I think they're considered the largest craft brewer. Well done.!
Sorry about the other one, but... always educational. :-))

Samuel Adams definitely must have some very nice crafted beers. This is the first one from this brewery to taste and I was pretty amazed!

Great review mate. I hate those watery beers as well.

The Samuel Adam's surprised me because I'm pretty sure that is a macro beer.

Sometimes the luck kicks in, sometimes not... I'm glad, that at least one of the beers was actually very good!
Thanks!

I like the mess that is that first photo, a brave man who deliberately spills beer.

Hehe... thanks! Actually the second one wad designed to be spilled in my opinion... LOL

Samuel adams is a name and also a name of a beer. Hahahaha

I organised a drinking contest please kindly check it out

https://steemit.com/beercontest/@ewuoso/beer-drinking-contest-how-fast-can-you-drink-up-120cl-of-beer-and-would-you-do-it-if-50-steem-plus-5-sbd-was-involved

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64479.05
ETH 3181.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57