You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Irish Beer review #8 Maggies Leap IPA drank in the Church where Arthur Guinness got married!!

in #beersaturday6 years ago

This one looks very delicious, but isn't it a bit weak for an IPA? I guess IPAs go from about 5,5 - 6% alc, while this goes a little bit towards the Session IPAs, or at least it's somewhere between the Session and the regular IPA.

About the fact, that you find the bottled ones to be better than the draft, well is that possible? The kegs don't allow light to spoil the beer, and as we know the light is the enemy #1 for the hops. I'm very curious on your thoughts and the reasons, which make the bottles better.

This church totally rocks! Great review with some historical facts included!
Cheers!

Sort:  

Hi, thanks for the great comment. The 4.7% is a bit weak alright, but to be honest it didn't taste weak at all, I was very happy with it.

Regarding the bottle vs draught, I am agreeing with you, my point was that I have had some really nice draught beers before, and then when I saw bottles in the off-license, I bought some, and they were not near as nice as the draught.. It makes sense, as you point out about the light..

If you ever come to Dublin, check it out, it's a really cool pub steeped in history..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33