Happy beersaturday with my post #1001 here in steemit. Here’s something new and somewhat special!

in #beersaturday6 years ago

This week’s beer... a beer, that I have looked for in the past few weeks, but after the first appearance in media, it seemed that there is not any trace at all, leading to it.

Here’s the Stolichno PALE ALE

Design.png

As you may know from my previous posts, Stolichno is a brand of one of the commercial Bulgarian breweries. Their product line is a premium one, compared to the other beers in their lineup. They tend to keep 4 different beers in their current production, and I have already reviewed 3 of them.

Recently an ad came, where I saw the Stolichno PALE ALE, which immediately grabbed my interest. Some people shared a bunch of photos in Facebook some time ago and since then nothing really happened. The beer seemed to be missing in the next two or three weeks and it was like some kind of a ghost. Well, finally it’s here!

IMG_0964.jpeg

According to my beer-competency, this is the first beer, which is commercial and is stated to be an ale, with a real use of Citra hops. Yup! On the package it is stated in the ingredients section “Hops: Hallertaurer Taurus|Citra”. Wow, really? Citra hopped pale ale for as little as $1.2... (well, because the beer is new, it’s price was promotional! $1,2 instead of $1... well, now... that’s a deal!)
It’s even written on the can “Enjoy in a pint glass.” Okay there... I think I’m ready to enjoy. Or just try my best to.

IMG_0967.jpeg

To be honest, I expected a little more pale, and here’s definitely a portion of special caramel malts. The color is amber to copper like and the beer itself is very clear. I seriously doubt, that the existing technology in the brewery allows them to brew ales. Or...???
In the nose there’s definitely some fruitiness, some citrus notes, but not much of a freshness, as I expected at first. Giving it a try, there definitely were some very decent citrus notes, but at whole, the beer was still very heavy in a way, maybe due to the usage of special malts. I immediately recalled drinking one of these cheap British special IPAs, that are not in fact IPAs, but bitter ales with not much of a hop profile. Of course this one is even cheaper, but tastes relatively the same.

IMG_0972.jpeg

Well, maybe it’s worth its price. And it is definitely better proportionally quality/price than the British alternatives. I will most likely drink this one from time to time. But only when I have no beer left in my house! Hehe... just kidding. It really deserves a try, although I would give it about 5/10 score.
The beer’s definitely something to try for its price.

Cheers, #beersaturday -ers. Have a nice week, and good luck in the contest.

IMG_0968.jpeg

IMG_0970.jpeg

IMG_0976.jpeg

IMG_0974.jpeg

IMG_0973.jpeg

Sort:  

Nice review and photography, Miro! Have you started using your Canon for taking pictures? :) I am gonna try this one when I get back. Cheers!

Oh, I’m using the Canon for the photos of #beersaturday posts maybe from the moment, when you advised me so! All my posts lately are shot with it. And it is very joyful. As for the beer, nothing really special.

It does make a difference :)

The color looks great, even if it should be paler, I love these darker colored beers!! Some great photos!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30