Bulgarian non-craft premium beers. Three beer set, side by side.

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Hello there... I’m ready for this week’s #beersaturday

Design.png
This week’s choice is Zagorka’s premium collection, if it can be called premium, but definitely these are beers, that deserve some attention.
Let’s meet the three ”Stolichno” beers:

IMG_0338.gif

These are cans with design of this year... I mean, 2017!
And as you see, there is a bit of a word play there with the cans and you will definitely understand which slogan pairs with the beer style. Oops... forgot to mention that the styles of the beers are WEISS, BOCK, and AMBER PILS.

”Love you wheat my heart”
”I Ambeer”
”Black velvet, if you please”

I like that the marketing team decided to do something different. Don’t you think so?
IMG_0363.jpeg

IMG_0381.jpeg

I’ll give my best and will systematize the three beer’s qualities in a table, although there is not much of comparison between these three styles. I will say... Three absolutely different beer styles. Anyway I will compare the, directly, face to face!

ParameterWEISSEAMBER PILSBOCK
Head retentionVery goodGoodFair
AromaBanana, cloveNot muchRoasted malts, chocolate, caramel
CarbonationMedium high-HighMedium highMedium high
MouthfeelMedium bodyLight bodyRich, smooth body
TasteWheat, earthy, bananaMalty, caramelSpecial malts, cocoa, caramel
AftertasteWeise-estery, bananaHoppy bitter, caramel maltsDark fruit, cocoa
Overal score7,5/107/108/10

In my opinion, for their price (about $1 each) they are very good beers and definitely will prefer drinking one of them instead of the regular everyday lager beers.

Weisse is definitely a fine example and stays behind the banana character of the yeast. Very estery and fermented in the high temperature range of the yeast.

Amber pils needs more hoppy character in the aroma. It is a Pils after all, it a regular Amber. Maybe with some fine tuning it will be ok. Mouthfeel is very good.

Bock is the best of the three examples and is strongest with its 6,5% alcohol by volume. It not lacked some body and creaminess in my opinion and the carbonation is somewhat rough. Definitely my preferable.

IMG_0369.jpeg
Stolichno Weiss

IMG_0373.jpeg
Stolichno Amber Pils

IMG_0376.jpeg
Stolichno Bock

Cheers, and support @detlev with his #beersaturday challenge. Write your beer post and join the competition of the week.
P.S. It was somewhat hard to drink these 3 beers, but the cause was good. At the same time I was brewing a Saison and tasting my Already fermented Pale ale. It was a tough evening, but ended well!

IMG_0364.jpeg

Sort:  

Black velvet if you please - now that is good wordplay.

"Love wheat my heart" sounds cool too!

Nice review and some very creative photography, Miro. I love the gif :)
Stolichno Bock is my favorite out of the bunch.

Bock is definitely the best of them, especially if you find it draft! Their Pale Bock was very good too, and was strong with its 7% alc., but I haven't seen it recently.

I haven't seen it either... maybe they stopped producing it?

Намерих я! Днес във фантастико.
IMG_0393.jpeg

Трябва да я пробвам отново, защото съм я пил само един-два пъти миналата година :) Вчера бях в Пловдив и пих Trappistes Rochefort 8 и 10 - супер беше!

За 8-та не знам, но десятката е наистина чудесна.

Спомням си, че на шишетата пишеше нещо от рода на "Special edition", та може и да е била лимитирана серия...

They are definitely some good looking beers. The can design is excellent. And from an Australian point of view, $1 per can is insanely cheap.

You rated them fairly high, so for that price they must be excellent value.

I rated them so high, having in mind, that they are not supposed to be excellent examples of the beer industry, but overall they are really good. And of course something different.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84