An elephant in the jungle. My chili pepper jungle! Old Empire IPA by MARSTONS.

in #beersaturday7 years ago (edited)

Hello, beer fellows, and #beersaturday friends, of course! Today I’m going in the jungle for my weekly post.

IMG_0538.jpeg

I decided, that it would look good if I put this elephant bottle in my little jungle. The jungle of my chili peppers. It looks even greater with the growing LED lights turned on, don’t you think so?

IMG_0525.jpeg

By the way, I’m growing some Carolina Reapers and Moruga Scorpions... woooh! But that’s another topic. So let’s go back to the beer. I decided to buy this one for a couple of reasons. The first one is that I had recently drunk some very good IPAs. The second one is that the beer choice was veeery poor today in my local shop. The third reason is that this elephant was looking interesting. Hehe, perhaps the most stupid reason ever!

IMG_0519.jpeg

I don’t know why but I was no sure at all that I should choose exactly this one...
Eventually I bought it and got back home quickly.

When I opened the bottle, I was expecting to smell some hops... nothing at all.
Started pouring in the glass... no aroma. (What!?!?!)
Gave it a heavy sniff! Nothing... only some esters. Esters!!! Sign of improper fermentation. High temperature, which yeast didn’t like at all! Definitely...

IMG_0531.jpeg

Yup... it definitely was bitter one! Maybe this was the initial IPA... the original one! Of course in the times when the IPA was “invented” there may not be so much American hops, which are the main ingredient of the modern IPA, but I was expecting some greater hop aroma. There are three hops listed on the beer’s label. But I think that they are only listed.
My homemade Pale Ales have more aroma hops than this one!

Yup, maybe it’s the worst “craft” beer ever. May be a little better than some commercial beers, but definitely not worth the price. I want my hops! Hello... An IPA!

If I had give some score to this one... it won’t be more than 3/10.
Disappointment. It made me want to pout a nice beer into my glass.
And I went straight to my keg, full with Aurora and Perla Pale ale. Actually @irreverent-dan had a chance to try one bottle. I bottled part of the batch before transferring it into the keg. I just want to have some bottles for giveaway in some occasions. Yes! That is a beer! And it’s more an IPA than the MARSTONS’ IPA.

IMG_0532.jpeg
It may be a bit hazy, but this is due to chill haze. I don’t filter my beers and don’t add gelatins to clarify them. Love them pure. But that one really tastes good.

IMG_0534.jpeg
And the foam is perfect! Huh...
No more elephants, please!

Cheers guys, and hope you like my post more, than I liked this so-called IPA...

Sort:  

As one of the fellow beer Steemians mentioned a few months back, it's good to have a bad beer every once in a while :) I can confirm that your home brewed Pale ale was great!

I’m happy you liked it!

The name of the beer is pretty pretentious :) Where is this beer produced?

MARSTONS is an English brewery... I’ll definitely remember that brewery.

Oh no, I must remember to avoid this one. You live and learn, eh... But, if ya hadn't of tasted it, you'd never know... Solid review, pity about the piss poor beer :o)

That’s why I am happy to always have my homebrews ready to fix the situation!

I like it, always good to have a contingency plan ;o)

Hmmm, no hops at all in a IPA, a shit brewery just jumping on a IPA bandwagon but not bothering to do it properly, or a old beer, where the hops have faded?

Maybe just a brewery, counting on placement in convenience stores... and of course cheap price.
Actually in some websites it was listed not as an IPA. But... well, the bottle labeling says “Old Empire IPA”.
Too bad for them if it is a trick. I bet, that my home brewed pale ales have more hops than this so-called IPA.

Ergh. And that IPA was so clear and watery looking. Definitely one to avoid.

Your beer looks much more beery.

I’m a bit late for the comp this week. Have to head out to try something. :)

Good luck with your hunt! This evening I count only on my homebrews. Definitely a good choice!

You got a 3.23% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @mdosev!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75