You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #BEERSATURDAY 31 Beer Review #2: Farmhouse Ale with Rye, with Massive Nugget Hop Additions

in #beersaturday7 years ago

No problem mate

I ended up brewing up another 500g or malt with some citra hops to add a little more fruit to the brew and increase the sugars. It’s started to ferment now so we’ll see what comes of this brew. :)

Sort:  

Cool! What did you brew?

If you've got too much wort, you can always just boil it down before adding the first hops until you get to the volume you want to have but you might end up with a stronger beer than you originally intended (and that might change some of your other calculations, like required bitterness- though I just right brain all that shit anyways). If you DO end up with too much finished beer, you can consider ADDING more water to divide it into two weaker batches if the original beer was strong enough. I'll often do this on purpose to get 3 batches where my boil vessel will only hold 2. For many dark styles, you can bump up the gravity with some brown sugar or something similar. If you are doing a Belgian, some white sugar is in line with the style (invert if you want to get fancy). Honey can likely work in most other instances, though that will drastically change the character of the beer. Another option would be fruit juice. I know someone who does an apple/hoppy belgian thing on purpose all the time. I haven't had it but I bet it is good. It sounds good.

I’m making an American pale so added some light malt with the citra hops. Fermentation kicked off today so we’ll see what we end up with soon. :)

Nice. Extract? If not, what was the malt bill? Yeast?

Yeah it was malt extract. I didn't add extra yeast as the home-brew shop owners didn't think it would be needed.

It's fermenting away at the moment. I suspect it might take a while given the amount of liquid.

I mean to ask what kind of yeast? Often I think people will use US-05 which is a solid, clean yeast that is tough to mess up with. I'll use it for my IPAs.

Oh I see, it's a US West Coast Yeast - M44.

I'm not at all familiar with the types of yeast yet so very much reliant on the guys at the home-brew shop where I get my stuff from.

Ah, got it. I haven't used that one before. I've always got a dry pack of Safale US-05, US-04, and Abbey Ale in my fridge just in case.

Used up all the 04 on my English beers from my last brew but I kept a tupperware full of the trub (sp?) on the bottom. 04 is my go-to for English and I haven't even played with the other traditional English yeasts that are supposed to be more finicky.

05 is about as neutral, dry, and reliable as you can get in terms of ales.

The abbey I have around just in case but it doesn't get much milage. I should stop buying it I suppose.

Here is a GREAT one for lagers. You can run it as hot as 72 F as long as you give it enough time to really clean up at the end of fermentation and blow off some sulfur: WYEAST 2124 BOHEMIAN LAGER YEAST

That last one will have non-beer-geeks loving your stuff. You will be blowing kegs in no time.

awesome! I might have to look at a German lager next. 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57694.11
ETH 2446.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38