🍻Mazzle Reviews Beer - Belhaven Brewery - My First Scottish Ale!🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago


Scottish Ale! I love something new to try.


So a week or so ago I bought some beer for a #BeerSaturday review at my local bottle shop, arrived home and then proceeded to open a bottle of wine instead.

Tonight, needing a good drink I open the fridge to discover this beer, and promptly remembered that I hadn't compiled my review yet. So here it is!


Belhaven Brewery - Scottish Ale


My first Scottish Ale. I was very excited when popping the top off this beer. I'd never had an ale from Scotland before so this was all very exciting.

The label on this beer says that the beer is rich, nutty, and smooth. Which sounds like my kind of thing. This is one of Belhaven's craft beers. So, naturally, you expect something a little unique and high quality. Check out the range of beers that Belhaven produces here.


What's it like?


Overall, this was a decent beer. It poured the ruby red as expected, but with only a very small head. What was strange, was that I barely detected any aroma in this beer. This was very strange, and quite surprising. On the palate, the carbonation was high, there were no flavours of hops, no bitterness, and strong flavours of malts.

The brewer described the beer as having bicuit flavours. And the sweetness of the malts definitely gives this impression. The lack of aroma, and the strength of the carbonation are both negatives for this beer but overall it is still a pleasant beer to drink. I'm OK with this beer. It's nothing amazing but I'd go back for a second. So I guess that gives it a passing grade.


The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Belhaven Scottish AleScottish AleUK5.2%3.5

All ratings are out of 5


Music from Epidemic Sound



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Loving these Beer reviews

Thanks mate.

wow my love for beer review have no part two. it your bro @gimba from @beersaturday challenge as hosted by @detlev

Thanks mate. It's great to see you taking part in this competition. :)

Welcome to the world of scotch ales. I recommend Founders Dirty Bastard.

I’ll try to find it. :)

It’s my favorite. They just announced they will be brewing it all year. They used to only release it for a month.

Great post and thanks for sharing. If I had to pick, I'd pair this with a Lager. The two would be delicious together

Wow you're fast. Thanks for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30