@mazzle Reviews Beer - With The Help of a Fur Beast! - Chimay Red (plus @mazzle Beer Mascot's Photoshoot)

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Hello my fellow beer loving Steemians!

Today, my beer loving fur beast and I are drinking Chimay Red! Just in time for #beersaturday!

I was actually meant to be at a beer brewers festival today however there is insane weather here in Melbourne today so the festival was cancelled. So! Beer at home it is! At least I have my pup to keep me company while I write about beer.

chimay.png
You have no idea how hard it is to get a dog to sit happily with a beer... check out the photo shoot at the end of my review

Chimay Red is an authentic trappist beer that is made in the style of Abbey Dubbel (or Brown/ Dark Ale). It is made in Baileux, Belgium.

Chimay Red is the oldest of the Chimay beers made at the Scourmont Abbey. It is described as being coppery in colour and sweet, fruity taste make it a particularly tasty dark ale. source

The Data
Volume: 330ml Bottle
Origin: Baileux, Belgium
ABV: 7%
Type: Dark Ale

What did I think of it?
Chimay very kindly provides a tasting chart for their beers on their website. So to help with the review I've provided the tasting chart for Chimay Red:
chart_rouge-en.png
source

The aroma has strong notes of malty sweetness and some hops and citrus notes. The head is long lasting with mild to strong carbonation.

The beer is malty with some bitterness and a lingering sweetness that kind of took me by surprise. You'll find some citrus flavours following the initial tastes of hops alongside the sweetness.

This is a surprising beer. I have only ever had Chimay Blue prior to trying this beer. The combination malts, bitterness, citrus and sweetness doesn't seem to sit quite right with this beer. To be honest I find it slightly confusing. Overall I prefer the Chimay Blue however don't consider this to be a bad beer, just a strangely structured one.

So how many times is this beer better than VB?

Despite the strange structure of this beer, I'd still confidently say that Chimay Red is at least 3 times better than VB.

The @mazzle Beer Mascot Photo Shoot

IMG_2623.JPG
Where's my toy?

IMG_2624.JPG
That's not a toy, that's cold and weird looking

IMG_2625.JPG
I just want my toy!!

IMG_2622.JPG
I give up, go away now

Thanks for reading #beersaturday team!

Upvote -- Follow @mazzle -- Resteem

Thank you.jpeg

Sort:  

Great post! Cute pup!!

Adding this beer to my Try List. And thanks again for the wine recommendations, too! Followed. Cheers!

Thanks braveboat. I’ve followed you too. :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mazzle to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Great post my first dog as a youth was a golden retriever and I have actually tried that beer before I think I found it at Fresh Market.

Thanks! Golden Retrievers are fantastic dogs. SO affectionate and full of character. I actually found an even better trappist beer last night. This one is a seriously good strong ale (10% ABV though so limit yourself to one).

IMG_1520.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60