@mazzle Reviews Beer - While on a Road Trip! - Two Brother’s Pay Day Pale Ale

in #beersaturday7 years ago

Hi Steemians! @mazzle here.

Today I’m writing my #beersaturday contribution from the passenger seat of my car as we drive to Adelaide to see my newly born niece.

Last night I was fortunate enough to stop for a pint at a local bar with my wife and a friend on the way home from work.

I was very pleased to discover that the bar had Two Brother’s beers on tap so ordered myself a Pay Day Pale Ale.

47341785-3D2C-4E24-80E7-FB33A90F06C7.jpeg

I’ve visited this brewery before, it is located in Moorabbin which is a south eastern suburb of Melbourne. It’s a real favourite of mine, they make great beer here.

1431DA50-4D65-45C8-9170-C8FFF05BC1C5.jpeg
source

Their beer is pretty well known around here, and the Pay Day Pale Ale actually won the award for Best Australian Pale Ale at the 2017 Australian International Beer Awards. This is no small feat.

I’ll keep this review simple since writing from a car can be a little challenging, and my wife is getting angry at me for not talking to her...

BF81E95E-240E-445C-A4E5-B32218AA5EDE.jpeg
source

The Data

Volume: 510ml Pint
Origin: Melbourne, Australia
ABV: 4.5%
Type: Australian Pale Ale

So, what’s it like?
Two Brother’s didn’t release a Pale Ale for quite a while after building their brewery. From what I understand, they spent a lot of time testing and tweaking this brew before finally releasing it to the public. And the award should speak for itself. They did a great job

The beer pours a lovely golden amber, the bar tender poured in a way that prevented any significant head forming so I can’t comment on this, or how long it lingers.

The beer is nicely carbonated, and has a subtle citrus fruit aroma. As with most Australian Pale Ales, this beer doesn’t pack the sort of punch you see from other international pale ales. The beer has a very light and malty sweetness with very low bitterness. There is no lasting flavours on the palate, which makes this a perfect beer for a warm Friday afternoon, which was exactly the situation I was in last night.

How do I rate it?
There’s no hiding the fact that I’m a big fan of Two Brothers. They really know how to make a great beer. And while I love this beer, I weirdly enjoyed the stronger citrus notes of Boatrocker’s Alpha Queen Pale Ale more than this beer. This is probably because I prefer beers that pack more of a punch, and American Pale Ales normally have more intensity than Australian Pale Ales.

Using my new rating system I would rate Pay Day as 4 times better than VB.

How would you make a good Pale Ale?
Check my post about the Boatrocker Alpha Queen Pale Ale for a great Pale Ale recipe. I’ll be brewing this recipe very soon.

Thanks for reading guys! Writing this review via phone in the car has certainly been an experience. Perhaps not an experience I’ll repeat too often.

Don’t forget to upvote - follow @mazzle - resteem for more beer reviews.

Sort:  

You are a WINNER

of the Steemit #BeerSaturday Challenge from week No.24 - https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/the-beersaturday-winners-from-last-week-join-this-challenge-any-week-and-win-some-sbd —> please upvote, resteem and support the Challenge. The weekly #BeerSaturday starts every Tuesday and end on Sunday ---> https://steemit.com/@detlev


I love 2Brothers - underrated in the craft beer seen - Growler is a great go to beer, Voodoo is amazing, they very rarely put a foot wrong.

I agree. It’s a fantastic brewery to visit as well. I went there the day after they received their award for Pay Day and every staff member was raving about how excited and proud they were for the win. Such a great place.

I've enjoyed reading your post. I love you so much that you always post such things so that we can learn so much fun and much more that you are actually a very nice man

Thanks :)

Brothers always give you party

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63