🍻Mazzle Reviews Beer - Black Heart Brewery - American Brown Ale!🍻

in #beersaturday7 years ago

Back On The Brown Ales - Oh How I Missed Thee


This weeks post was meant to be my tutorial on making your own beer. Unfortunately, the house was in such a state last night when I planned to make my brew that I knew I would be pushing myself for time if I made videos and took photos of the process. In addition to cleaning everything. That's the thing with home-brew. A clean and sterile working environment is critical.

Fortunately, I had a beer in the fridge that I was keen to get stuck into. I've been drinking pale ales almost exclusively for the past couple of weeks so I couldn't resist popping the top on this American Brown Ale - brewed by the 2 chaps who created Black Heart Brewery. I'd link to their website, however it seems to be quite non-functioning, and has no content. So I suppose we'll just work off the info we can find elsewhere.

This is one interesting brewery, and I plan to do a review of the brewery itself after reading about how this place came into existence. The two brewers who own the place met while working in a hospital. One was a heart surgeon, and the other is a perfusionist.

If you're wondering what a perfusionist is, so did I. A perfusionist is is a healthcare professional who uses the cardiopulmonary bypass machine (heart–lung machine) during cardiac surgery (thanks Wikipedia). Since when did beer blogs become educational? Should this be a thing?

The beer of the day is Black Heart Brewery's American Brown Ale. This beer is described as being:

A big malt power house with strong American hop aroma and a decadent lick of chocolate and caramel. Beer that can pass for desert? Genius.
Source - the beer label

This description is actually what convinced me to buy the beer. I love a good desert as much as I love beer (why do I own a gym again?). So being able to kill two birds with one stone sounded perfect to me.

Did someone order a beer that was all head?


Check out that head!? And this wasn't from an unskilled pour. I'm wondering if the beer was still fermenting in the bottle. Maybe someone more skilled at brewing might have more insight than me (@gmikeyg?).

After a while the beer calmed down (a little), although the head is a lingerer on this beer (obviously). I was eventually able to fill the glass, and actually experience the beer properly.

I really love a good quality brown ale, and despite the insane head, this is one of those. And the reviewers at Untappd (image below and to the right) seem to appreciate this beer as well. The beer is a lovely dark amber colour with strong notes of malts and hops on the nose. There were some mild hints of caramel on the nose as well however this was very understated.

The carbonation was decent, after the beer calmed down after that pour of course. Once you get past the head, you'll find that this is a very malty beer, which is how it is described. But unlike the description, this beer is not at all like a desert. There is a mild bitterness, lots of malts and hops, and some lingering aftertaste that includes caramel and bitter chocolate at random moments.

So my only complaint, other than that insane head, was that the beer didn't really match the description. But other than this, I really enjoyed this brown ale. It is definitely a quality brown ale that the brewers have spent a lot of time developing, and I'd definitely go back for a second (maybe not on the same night though, this beer comes in a 500ml bottle). So that's always a good sign.

I'll commit to visiting this brewery in the next couple of weeks to do a full brewery review. I might even drag the wife (@bluebellpossum) along again so that she can help write the review.

The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Black Heart Brewery American Brown AleBrown AleBrighton, VIC5.6%3.5

All ratings are out of 5

Rating and Reviews at Untappd


Sort:  

I'm not the biggest fan of a dark ale but I don't think I've ever tried a dessert beer. Defs one for the list! I made a post the other day about Tatratea. Have you tried? It's a herbal liquer, would recommend :)

I've never had that, it sounds very interesting. I've had a herbal liquor from South America called Agwa. It's made from coca leaves and is really interesting. It's well worth trying if you haven't had it already.

https://www.thekitchn.com/agwa-de-bolivia-liqueur-made-f-107233

Yeah agwa bombs are routine drink on a night out 😜

Really? I had no idea it was popular. :)

Yeah lots of bars here (in Adelaide) offer it as a special!

That’s so strange. I never see it anywhere else.

That's a lot of foam! o_O And I love your sigpic XD

goatsig

really like your little goats ryivhnm. Very cute!

Thanks :) I love your goats.

I don't drink much but Chocolate Beer for dessert sounds like a nice way to end the day!

It is a nice drop, it's a shame that the chocolate and caramel flavours were so subtle though. :)

Sounds like a nice drop. I'm not a drinker but I'd give it a taste!

Haha if you're not a drinker it might be a slight shock to your system. This is a heavy beer. :)

That beer looks great. I wonder if the beer was not at freezing point, I have noticed that it makes a lot of foam, when you open the beer, when it just started to freeze.

Thanks @rynow. It looks like it may have been either a sanitation issue or a problem with the yeast. If it is that would be a bit of a black mark against their name.

Thanks for the education on what a perfusionist is. I had no idea! You are right that the head is insane, I have never seen something like that!

@gmimeyg thinks it might be due to a sanitation or infected yeast issue. It was very strange and I’ve never experienced it before as well.

Wow... It has the appearance of a stout, doesn't it? Same sort of flavor profile, too.

Great review! I'm going to have to do a little research on the brewery and find out where these guys are... Cheers!

Thanks @braveboat. The flavour profile is similar to stout. It’s just less heavy and intense.

The brewery is located in Brighton which is a Southern suburb of Melbourne. It’s in the residential part of Brighton, and is in their backyard... these guys don’t make a lot of beer.

I thought when I saw the first shot of the label of the bottle, that it was a bottle of wine hahahah.

But cool story! I used to work in heart surgery previously and therefor its even more interesting that a perfusionist and a cardiac surgeon were brewing these things together. They really needed so calm down time I guess after a hard days work. Very cool story!

Thanks! I can only imagine how intense that line of work must be. I was wondering if someone here would know what a perfusionist was.

What was your role back then?

I was and still am an operating room technician, or scrub nurse (whatever you call it!). So I used to work in a cardiac centre, and now I work in a tiny hospital on a little island haha

On your lovely island. :D

I imagine working in tiny hospital is a lot more rewarding in comparison to the big hectic city hospitals.

Yes and no to be honest! I liked working on high tech flashy surgeries with all abilities to do anything for every patient. But yes, it is more about money and production in a big place.

In a small place, you just simply dont have all technical measures to give your everything, even though you are capable of it yourself. But true again, it is very much more personal and you have more time to give personal attention.

Both have good and bad sides, Im happy that I know both sides of the story.

Makes sense. And it's awesome that you've experienced both sides of the industry.

great post!

Thanks :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mazzle to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58