🍻Mazzle Reviews Beer - A Paddle at The Local Taphouse!🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

I'm Loving These Paddles - and The Local Taphouse


My business has been giving me a fair amount of grief lately. So when my friend invited me out for some mid-week beers this week, I jumped at the chance and suggested we try out a little bar in St Kilda, Melbourne called The Local Taphouse. I also needed something to write about for this week's #BeerSaturday as well so I couldn't really go wrong, other than the hangover that I had to deal with the following day.

I wanted to try this bar after discovering it while searching for breweries in the St Kilda area. This bar isn't a brewery but they stock an amazing selection of craft beers, with a huge number of them available on tap. Even better, this bar won the people's choice award for best pub in Melbourne in 2017.

The tap beer list is extensive, with a selection of local, broader Australia and international craft beers. I jumped at the chance to try some beers from the USA as I've never had craft beer from there before.


So What's on My Paddle?


I decided very quickly to focus on ales for this paddle and chose a selection of pale ales,
IPAs and a weisse beer. I was quite pleased with this selection and excited to try some more IPAs which have quickly become one of my favourite beer varieties.



Social Beast - Pale Ale - Brewmanity (Vic)


This is a light and fruity pale ale. The tasting notes say that there are citrus and pineapple flavours in this beer which I detected both in the aroma and the flavour of this beer. The beer is low in both hops and bitterness, and focuses more on the fruits which is quite pleasant and not overpowering.

It's definitely an enjoyable beer that I would have again.

Acid Drop - Berliner Weisse - The Grifter Brewing Co. (NSW)


This beer is described as being light with a pleasant tartness. The beer has quite a fruity and hoppy aroma with some bitterness following through. I found the beer to be trending towards the sour side, with quite high tartness and hops.

I still haven't developed a taste for sour beers, so can't say that I'm a huge fan of this one. I'll keep trying them though as I can see that this beer was well made, just not for me yet.

Hop Stomper - IPA - Stomping Ground Brewing (Vic)


This is easily one of my favourites from this paddle. Aroma of citrus, hops and more with lovely hoppy, citrusy flavours that are balanced well with a mild bitterness. This is a very drinkable beer. I almost wish my entire paddle consisted of this beer alone.

Fred IPA - IPA - Murray's Craft Brewing Co. (NSW)


This IPA is described as having big flavours of hops, citrus, pineapple and pine notes. I definitely discovered the hops, citrus and pineapple in both the aroma and the flavour. Tasting pineapple in beer is truly strange. But I didn't get any of the pine notes.

This IPA isn't strong on the bitterness, I think the malty sweetness and pineapple really offsets the bitterness.

This is an excellent beer. Which surprised me as my first experience of Murray's Brewing Co. a while ago wasn't positive. It's not the best of the bunch of beers but is definitely one to have again.

Oskar Blues IPA - IPA - Oskar Blues (USA)


This beer was my first experience of a beer from the US craft beer scene, and it is quite a solid IPA. The beer was brewed with malt barley and red wheat along with a wide variety of hops. The beer has a lovely malt aroma with some subtle citrus notes. The mild to strong bitterness is well balanced with the flavours of malts and hops. This is quite a complex beer but is very well structured and incredibly enjoyable.


Bonus Beer Round!


I couldn't stop at just the paddle on this night. My mate and I were chatting away happily and before long, we ran out of beer and needed more. I decided to try the last IPA on the list.

Vengeful Spirit IPA - IPA with fruit - Sone Brewing Co. (USA)


Wow. This IPA is very different. This is a hoppy, fruity beer with a pleasant bitterness to back it all up. It has tropical fruits on the nose along with strong notes of hops and sweet malts. The fruity aromas transfer well through to the palate but are balanced out beautifully by the strong flavours of hops and bitterness. It isn't an overly sweet beer, which could easily be assumed after reading the tasting notes.

This beer is complex, powerful (at 7.3% alcohol content) and extremely enjoyable.


Well that was quite the beer tasting event. We ended up drinking until closing time, which is a rare occurrence for me. But what a fantastic selection of beers this was. I don't think I've ever had so many quality beers in one drinking session. If you're ever in Melbourne, I highly recommend stopping by for a beer or 5 at The Local Taphouse in St Kilda.

The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Social BeastPale AleVIC4.5%4
Acid DropBerliner WeisseNSW4.2%3.5
Hop StomperIPAVic5.9%4.5
Fred IPAIPANSW5.6%4.0
Oskar Blues IPAIPA6.4%4.5
Vengeful Spirit IPAIPAUSA7.3%4.5

All ratings are out of 5


Sort:  

Stone Brewing is one of my favorite craft brewers. They have been producing some great beer over the last few years and their brand is growing quickly. I haven't tried the Vengeful, but I'm not at all surprised that you enjoyed it. I believe they are out of the San Diego area...

Cheers!

That’s fantastic that you know them. It was an excellent beer. The US seems to be producing some fantastic craft beers. I’m keen to explore some more of them.

Mate you took fair amount of work (and consumed fair amount of pints) to write this article. Great job bro! I miss Melbourne sometimes, and Oz in general too. Great place! Will give you a shout if I come visit!

Thanks mate. Where are you living now? Definitely let me know when you’re here next. I’m always keen to share a beer with a fellow Steemian.

Ya bro especially with a Czech mate who'd prolly give you a check-mate in drinking beers :D I live in Vancouver!

Nice and I'm so jealous I can't drink that much beer without consequences ;-)
You should put the place on the Steemitworldmap so others can find it easily.
BTW: 'Good Business' and namaste :-P

I suffered after this night. Didn’t get home until well after middnight. I took that first picture before heading home. The place was closed and the streets were empty.

The next day was insanely busy with meetings and I felt rubbish lol.

The Taphouse is definately top three or four beer bars in Melbourne. You realise of course the guys that own the Taphouse also own the Stomping Ground brewery, so in a way the bar (sort of) owns a brewery.

I had no idea that they owned Stomping Ground. At least they make great beers. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

"good business" is what I think you have said here. Perhaps read the post and comment something meaningful. Red flag for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53