Mazzle Reviews a Beer that will Make Him a Whale! - Murray's Whale Ale

in #beersaturday7 years ago

An Ale for Whales?


So.. I can't confirm if this ale can indeed turn one into a Steemit whale. I'm sure, if you consumed enough, your girth may resemble that of a whale though. The only negative thing about a good ale is that it adds en extra layer or two to your physique, and not the kind of layer that attracts the ladies.

source

But, given that this ale is designed for Whale's I thought there's no harm trying one to see if my Steem Power would soon reflect that of something larger that a minuscule minnow. And what better time to do this than for my weekly #BeerSaturday review!


So, who brewed this Steem Power enhancing amber liquid?


The brewer of this beasty ale is Murrays Brewing Company and the beer of choice of our Whales is Murray Brewing Company's Whale Ale.

The brewer describes this beer as:

A refreshing wheat beer with a twist. Whale Ale's high percentage of malted and unmalted wheat and aromatic late hop profile gives a unique take on a session strength ale. A classic light body, creamy mouthfeel and refreshing citris flavour. This is balanced with assertive late hopping, giving a fresh, light tropical fruit aroma and cleansing dry finish.
Source

I actually don't drink wheat beers often at all. But if this beer is promising to make me a whale then why the hell wouldn't I give this a try?


A Beer Designed for Whales Must be Amazing Right?

You know, I really didn't know what to expect from this beer. I quite literally bought it because I saw a whale on the logo and thought that it would be a fitting beer to review for the simple fact that I could pretend that it would bring me one step closer to achieving whale status on Steemit.

So, when I went in for my first sniff and sip I was actually really surprised. This is a decent beer. The first impression wasn't great, the head on the beer only lasted seconds. But I've had great beers that did the same thing so I didn't let that first impression deter me.

The beer poured the light golden amber that you expect from a wheat beer, quite pale and surprising given that all I've been drinking lately is pale ales, dark ales and strong ales.

The aroma is hoppy with some notes of malt, which is unsurprising for a wheat beer. What was surprising was the strength of hops on the nose, given most wheat beers that I've had haven't been that powerful. There was also a subtle sweetness to the aroma, which I enjoyed.

The carbonation was a little on the low side, which isn't surprising since pouring the beer really didn't generate any real head. The pleasant surprise came with the tasting of the beer. There's certainly some maltiness and a well balanced hoppiness to the beer but there is also a fantastic addition of citrus to the beer, which was perfect for the hot summer's day that I had this beer on.

It could be a phase that I'm going through, but I'm really enjoying citrus flavours in my beers at the moment. So I really enjoyed the fact that this beer had a good focus on citrus flavours. The citrus wasn't overpowering at all, it was well balanced against the hops and malts.

Weirdly, the beer hasn't received fantastic feedback on ratebeer.com. So this tells me that it's worth taking this feedback with a grain of salt and forming your own opinion. I enjoyed this beer. Sure it's not perfection in a bottle, but it rates quite decently in my book.

And finally, did this beer make me a Steemit whale? I think it's way too early to tell. 😛


The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Murray's Whale AleWheat AleBob's Farm, NSW4.5%3

All ratings are out of 5

Rating and Reviews at ratebeer.com



Sort:  

Really enjoy reading your posts!
Only sad thing is probably won't get to taste this beer ..

That is a shame. They’re a reasonable sized producer so you might find them in places that stock international beers.

Hahaha Whale Ale :) Great review. I wonder if it was kind of like a cider ?they are great on a hot summer's day, my girlfriend introduced me to James Squire apple cider and I was pleasantly surprised ;)

Nah not at all like a cider. Still very much a beer. The citrus flavours actually come from a type of hops rather than the addition of real fruit. It’s a moderately subtle flavour that can be more pronounced depending on the amount of this types of hops is used when brewing the beer.

Although I have been clean & sober since '87, I could smell and taste this beer from your post! Well done.

Thanks mate. :)

And well done for staying sober for such a long time!

How fitting a Whale Beer perfect for a Steemit post .

I thought so too. :)

Love citrusy beers in general, and unfiltered wheat brews, in particular. The Whale Ale sounds like exactly what I'd order if to were on the menu at my local pub.

Such a well written review, @mazzle! Cheers!!

Thanks @braveboat. :)

I’ve added some citrusy hops to the pale ale that I’m brewing at the moment. I’m hoping that it comes out with some nice hints of citrus as well. Will have to wait and see.

That was a fun post with a cool-looking beer, man. You get my full still-a-minnow upvote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57