🍻Zip Lining and Beer! Fun and Laughs on the Mornington Peninsula🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)


Bringing Out the Inner Child and More Beer


This weekend involved a hell of a lot of beer. But on Sunday it also involved some tree surfing before the beer, which was a lot of fun.

My lovely wife, who features a few times in the video above, bought me a tree surfing adventure and beer tasting experience. She knows me well, a kid at heart who loves beer way too much.

We did the tree surfing at the Enchanted Adventure Playground which is near Arthurs Seat, not far from the city of Mornington. And we ended the day at the Mornington Peninsula Brewery, who make some excellent beers (and pizza).

Of course, this post is more about the beer, so let's get on to that.


A Paddle or Two at Mornington Peninsula Brewery

Mornington Peninsula Brewery is a well established brewery and, unsurprisingly, located in the city of Mornington. They brew a range of beers including their core range of beers along with specialty beers that are changed out on a regular basis.

On this occasion, we tried a paddle of their core range along with the specialty range. Which made for some fun tasting. My wife is not at all a beer drinker, but surprisingly discovered that she liked their specialty dark ale, which I didn't like much at all. So she had that along with a cider while I worked my way through the rest of the two paddles.

The beers worth noting were:

Hibiscus Grisette - 4% ABV


What a unique beer this was. I had never experienced a grisette before so was very eager to try this when I saw it on the menu.

The brewers describe Grisette as:

Originally brewed by Belgian miners as a post-work thirst quencher. Grisette is a low-alcohol style made from malted wheat with more emphasis on the hop profile than their style cousins Saisons.

source

This beer was also brewed with hibiscus flowers, which made it extremely floral along with fruits and malts in the aroma. It is highly drinkable. It was mildly hoppy, quite fruity along with malts on the palate. I could quite easily sit and sip on this beer all day which I think is the intent.

Hop Culture Session IPA - 4.9% ABV


This IPA comes with a fruity and hoppy aroma which follows through to the palate. The beer is not as bitter as I was expecting. But is a very well balanced IPA and incredibly moreish.

It's not at all a complex beer but one that is very well made and, again, one that you can drink way too many of on a warm summer evening. If you're looking for something nice and simple to have in the afternoon then this is it.

English Brown Ale - 5% ABV


This is one of the breweries core beers. It's obvious why they have it as a core beer, it's well balanced and extremely popular. The beer has a very malty aroma and on the palate comes with a mild bitterness, along with a subtle sweetness which are the result of the brown sugars used in the brewing process.

It felt a bit strange drinking such a heavy beer in the hot afternoon sun but this beer is still one of my favourites. I'll be grabbing more next time I'm down this way, which is often.

)


I think that's enough beer for one weekend


What an absolute blast of a weekend that was. We had beers in Ballarat, launched a new website on the Steem blockchain, did some tree surfing and had some more beer. I think my waist line is suffering as a result so the remainder of this week will be light on with the beer and heavy on the exercise.

I'm thinking this post will be my submission for #beersaturday, so check out the latest #beersaturday competition post by @detlev for my submission later this week.

Have a great week!

The view from Arthur's Seat outside the city of Mornington



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow awesome post. Great collection of pictures. I really like it. Thanks

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mazzle
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=6t9oy6qj


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

good !!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67640.77
ETH 3784.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65