Many Beers

in #beersaturday5 years ago

I have a few beers to present for this week's #BeerSaturday. First off is a coconut vanilla stout from Lolo Peak Brewery. I think I have posted this one before, but since it is a tasty seasonal I got it again.

20190201_180040.jpg

Next up is one of my own, an apple wheat ale. I made a wheat ale as a base, then steeped some apples, from my in-laws apple tree, in it for a week. It has a pleasant apple taste to it. It makes me think of a cider mixed with a beer.

20190201_195652.jpg

We played some Pathfinder RPG that night and had a great time.

On the day of the Super Bowl, we went to a friend's house to hang out, eat some nachos (didn't get a picture, sorry), and play some games. Oh, and watch the big game. It was mostly boring but the beers I had weren't.

First we had a beer called Considerable Danger from Map Brewing. This is a dark beer that was around 13% ABV. Map does some specialty brews that aren't around very long, this is one of those. It was very good and smooth but quite potent. It was so good I almost forgot to take a picture.

20190203_153855.jpg

20190203_225321.jpg

Next up I tried a lemon ginger ale from New Belgium. I am glad my wife was having it because, damn it was lemony. I like lemon but this is a bit overpowering. I could taste the ginger, but only as a light aftertaste when the lemon had receded.

20190203_153947.jpg

The last one of the day, and this post, was a chipotle pepper smoked porter from Stone Brewing. A nice, dark porter with a hint of pepper heat. I mostly noticed the heat as an aftertaste. Not as good as the Considerable Danger but enjoyable none-the-less.

20190203_162344.jpg

Sort:  

Considerable Danger was my favorite!

A 13% beer from MAP that would be a considerable danger. Good to see some homebrew in there a well. Apple is not usually a fruit used in beer, but it's always good to experiment.

Aye, I was offered some apples and I thought "Why not try them in beer, what's the worst that can happen?". And it turned out pretty good. So, sometimes unusual additions work out.
I don't recommend trying to add smoky flavor by burning the oats to the bottom of the pot during a boil for stout however. It is only good for smoking meats after that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85