You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gwangwhamun 광화문 Seoulite Ale

in #beersaturday5 years ago

looks great. As a German I think most beers (Pils and Lager-Beers) here have become very non-beerish. They are mass-products with a metallic taste, not very refreshing, like Pils used to be, no vitamins, maybe its only imagination but I think even the little buzz you get from the alcohol is different. Most beer-drinkers here don't drink it for the taste anymore, they just want the alc. Asia and the US is improving insanely and in the last years especially South Koreas craft beer scene. Maybe Ale and IPA is the future of beer.

Sort:  

I've lived in South Korea since they only had 3 types of beer available at an affordable price and it was just used to mix with soju. Several years ago, the FTAs kicked in and imported beers suddenly became cheap which meant the local beverage makers really had to step up their game. A few years ago people got into craft beers but it was limited by region. I mean who wants to travel for an hour to get a beer? You are right in the past year or so it has exploded and they are sold everywhere now. There were some recent changes to the tax laws. Beer is now taxed on volume, not manufacturing price.
People are drinking for quality and not just the quantity.

Lager and Pils are okay to drink on a very hot day. I prefer them if I want to drink a lot during the day or just in general because they go down so easily. However, you are right Ale and IPA are much better. I definitely notice the buzz is different, but it does hurt my stomach a lot more if I overindulge because of the bitterness or less filtering maybe?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86