BeerSaturdays: Why you should always try your local products first

in #beersaturday7 years ago

One thing I like in in food and drinks, is using local products. Everybody has their own reasons of course for doing this, but for me the main reason is just to support the local community. Also while travelling this is never a loss. You get to try all kinds of stuff, which most likely you will never see again. Example, a while back we where in Czech Republic and we went to a local brewery for a beer tasting, but we also went for a winetasting in Prague. These wines were hardly exported, so outside of Prague you most likely would never have a chance to try them.

Screenshot_20180117-084838.jpg

So in this weeks supermarkt session we tried a beer from Barbados. '10 Saints'. Have you ever heard of it? Well, I had not, and Barbados is just around the corner here. So what the cool thing is about this beer, is that it is aged in rumbarrels. Rumbarrels? Yeah, you know..rumbarrels

When I think about rumbarrels, I always have to think about a radio commercial here on the radio from Mount Gay, THE rum from Barbados. I dont know if this beer was then in the end in Mount Gay barrels, but who knows ;) I dont like Mount Gay at all to be honest, but the commercial just sticks in your head.

Its ready when its ready

So, what would happen if you put beer in these used barrels? So then you end up with 10 Saints beer, and its brewn by one of the neighbors. Cool, right?? Not such high transportation cost overseas, and good to support the local community!

Screenshot_20180117-084853.jpg
Cool details on the neck label, Im thinking about pirates now, Harrrrrrrrrr

I found that the beer didnt taste like rum at all, to be honest! But it was a nice and light beer, which was very enjoyable. And the funny thing is, although we had never heard of it, all of a sudden over the weekend I saw these beers in all kinds of bars. Like when you see your car driving everywhere all of a sudden, after you bought a specific model. But for sure Im gonna buy this beer next time again, when I find it.

Screenshot_20180117-084909.jpg
Boommmm, In a nice and frozen glass for a little extra chill here in the warm Caribbean

Screenshot_20180117-084815.jpg
The label itself already tells you what kind of flavor to expect. Well, at least they are honest!

So when you have the chance, always try your local products! You might just end up with some hidden gems!

Sort:  

Good post! Unfortunately for me, my palate can't delicately appreciate such flavors of Rounded Vanilla or Tropical Spices notes. But good beer is good beer though

Hahaha all those descriptions of flavors, Im not too good at it! To me the beer is nice or not, I dont have the ability to discover all those things myself :)

It sounds like a good beer! I did not know that the island was separated into parishes...so it's beer and a geography lesson for me.

Cool right! You learn something every day, even if its from beer haha!

I also love to support the local guys, and it looks as if you hit a jackpot with this one!!

This one was really worth mentioning! Dont expect beer with rumflavour, but just a gentle beer.
And yes, if the neighbors are making this, you should always support it!

I've heard of mount Gay rum, but I've never heard of this beer, will need to see if I can find it anywhere.

Its worth the hunt, the stuff was good!! Honestly I dont know where the stuff is all exported to. I might be that you're not able to get it outside of the Caribbean, but honestly I really dont know!

Mount Gay rum....Nehhhhh hahahahah

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57