Beersaturdays: Not everything is as good as it seems

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

I was gone a while from the #beersaturday competition hosted by @detlev, mostly because I didnt have a single special type of beer anywhere. Then I found this monstrosity from a couple weeks back in my pictures, so I am still going to give you the story about it. Because just not every beer is as good as it looks, to be honest!!

Screenshot_20180214-081332.jpg

So I found this French beer in the supermarket for an astonishing $4.50 per bottle. I dont know about you but I find that expensive for a beer in a bar already. So for supermarket standards this is ridiculous but who cares, I thought. We just want to try beer right!!

There I went with two of these cool looking bottles. If you look carefully on the label on the right side, the shape of that spot looks like the contours of the island of Sint Martin. And the adress on it looks French. Could this beer be brewed here on the island on the French side??

I got enthusiastic! I was happy! I was thinking of all kinds of Dutch local beers you can find at the moment, home brewed and super tasteful as well. I put these babies in the quick cooler AKA freezer did you know this goes really fast when you put wet toilet paper around the bottle..its true!!), got all set up on the porch with some chips, froze some glasses and we were ready to rumble. Yeaaaaah, our own local beer.

Screenshot_20180214-081250.jpg

Nice pour, good color, so far so good. And then the first sip....

Anticlimax, deception, disappointment.

Can you imagine Coors light without flavor? I give you the Chill Island Beer. I looked at hubby, he nodded his head, I nodded back. All of a sudden everything was stupid at the beer. Yeah, because you can talk all about concepts, breweries, logos, but in the end its the taste that counts. And what this beer didnt have.

Screenshot_20180214-081310.jpg

Our initial enthusiasm shifted 180 degrees. 'I cant even see Sint Martin on the logo, maybe its just a stupid stain. Look, there isnt even a back label. This is cheap ass sh*t'

Mental note: not everything locally made is good. Or....was it even locally made??

Sort:  

We have all been there...drain pour.

yeah exactly....one sip and bye bye...Such a bummer!!

It is, but it happens. They can’t all be winners.

I feel your pain. I drove 30 minutes to a local brewery today all excited at the opportunity to try some locally produced craft beers that came with high praise on google.

I arrive and see that they sell more beer from other places than their own. Ask for a tasting paddle to try their full range of craft beers, and take a sip. I was immediately sad. One of the beers tasted like soap.

The lesson is, some beers will just be crap. But they make the good ones shine. So crap beer is a must sadly. Just limit your exposure to it.

But it was only one of the beers of the tasting that tasted like soap or all of them? That sucks dude, at least they also were selling other stuff of potential quality

Cant win em all! What you say, it takes a bad one to recognize the good ones. Hopefully only not too often :)

It was a mixture of good and crap. I’ll do a write up today for the next #beersaturday.

hehe Yeah please do, curious about the rest of the story!

A very expensive - cheep beer - bummer!!

Very expensive and not even worth it!!

I had hoped so much that it was fantastic, because then I could support my local economy by promoting it.
But lets be honest, when it sucks, it sucks, and it doesnt deserve promotion

Eish sorry very disappointing! Next time better!

Hahaha its not always a party! Cant have only winners unless you lose sometimes here and there ;))

Damn! This is why i stick to my brand of beer.. And when i wana try new brand, i ask carefully about it before ordering lol

I try a lot of beers, its like a journey towards the best beer ever hehehe.

The bars do not have a lot of different beers at the moment unfortunately :(

Nice! I need to get better about doing these #beersaturdays things. I drink so much that I miss out, haha!

You should! The Competition is always booming, and if you drink anyway: Why not write good stories about it :D

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

It's probably not local. St. John's Brewing is made in Maine. However, Frenchtown Brewing is made on St. Thomas and they're expanding their production.

I can't seem to make out the name of the brewery on the label. Who makes this beer?

Im gonna see if I can find the bottle again in the supermarket to check the label again.
St Thomas is right around the corner, so it would make sense actually!

But see the blue stain in the right upper corner with the cloud?
Thats exactly like our island contours i find

I checked them in the supermarket again today. No name is mentioned, so nice and shady. But..now I know for sure its a local project from French Sant Martin due to this logo

20180216_120947.jpg

Sorry for the disappointment..kinda funny though

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66167.07
ETH 3529.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14