Olcan - The White Hag Irish Brewing Company - Beer Review

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

20180309-IMG_0961.jpg

Olcan - The White Hag Irish Brewing Company

Beer Review

Olcan is a 6% Barrel aged Brett IPA made by The White Hag Irish Brewing Company in Ballymote, County Sligo, Ireland. According to ancient Irish folklore, the White Hag was a seen as a chameleon witch, but also as Mother Nature. I tried the Olcan while I was in Ireland visiting @cneck a couple weeks ago and I was not a big fan. A Brett IPA is brewed with Brettanomyces yeast and aged in wooden barrels. This was my first time trying a Brett IPA and I thought it tasted rather sour.

333333.png

Check out Olcan Reviews on Untappd: (Rated 3.68/5)
https://untappd.com/b/the-white-hag-irish-brewing-company-olcan/2217349

See what else The White Hag has to offer:
https://thewhitehag.com/

333333.png

20180309-IMG_0965.jpg

The Bottle

The Olcan is served in 330ml bottles. The label features two wolves howling as you can see in the photo above. The following paragraph can be seen on the back of the beer:

" Before the discovery of yeast in 1857, practically all beer was fermented in wooden vessels with microbes resident within the wood itself. Our Barrel Series aims to recreate some of the flavours produced by these magical little organisms. Olcan was fermented in French oak barrels using multiple strains of Brettanomyces yeast. The strains were selected for their ability to produce an array of fruit flavors and assertive funkiness. The beer was then dry-hopped in stainless steel tanks with American hops to complement the tropical yeast notes and the gentle spice character from the oak fermentation."
- Joe Kearns – Brew Master at The White Hag Brewery

333333.png

20180309-IMG_0963.jpg

The Beer

Luckily I only bought a single bottle when I purchased the Olcan. I went to the store trying to find local Irish IPAs and the man working referred me to this. It was nothing like the IPAs I am used to (although I am a bit spoiled). I took a few sips and couldn't finish. The beer tasted sour to me (probably because it's a barrel aged IPA). Unfortunately I did not get to try other beers from The White Hag Irish Brewing Company, but next time I visit @cneck I will certainly give them another chance.

333333.png

Happy #BeerSaturday!

What are you drinking?

Follow @detlev and learn more about the #BeerSaturday Challenge on STEEM

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text

Sort:  

Too bad, by the description, it sounded like a tasty beer, but it appears as though the flavors just didn't mesh well. Oh well, at least you're back in the states and can enjoy a nice American IPA!

Excellent my friend @jeffjagoe, another beer more for your delight. Beer in particular is very peculiar and interesting, in addition to the fact that the label of the beer is very unique with its two wolves. It is interesting the small review that you show us of the bottle, since currently the beers are fermented is the yeast and read as they did before they created the yeast is incredible, they fermented it in wooden containers with microbes that were inside the same mandera, wow I've never read something like that and that's why it surprises me. It really is a unique beer, but as you comment is not very good taste beer, but if something we can highlight is its history. I think you've tasted better beers than this one.

Yes I definitely had better. This was one of my least favorites so far. Thanks for the comment @alejo1996! Hope you're enjoying the day

Thanks to you for all the support my friend @jeffjagoe. Equally for you.

How about my brother, how are you ?, nothing better than a rich beer, of course there are good beers and bad beers, but the good ones are enjoyed greetings friend you're good!

Excellent, I love that you share the different brands of beers and scribes of their preparation, and the way it ages for a perfect fermentation. They also have very original labels, which are worthy of a collection, I like to have cocktails. @jeffagoe

Am i the only one who doesn't like beer ?

I see so many people drinking it and saying its good

maybe i am just too much of an pussy.
i like vodka and cider

haha this beer sucked. but I do like a good beer!
Vodka on the other hand kills me!

Well yeah i can't drink pure vodka aswell
i drink it with coce or some kind of juice.

but i just don't like the taste of beer.
when i first started drinking i really liked beer. but now i just don't want it.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jeffjagoe
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=olcan-the-white-hag-irish-brewing-company-beer-review


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61342.71
ETH 2389.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56