Three Castles Brewery - Winter Gold Ale. Gold paint on lead.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

A couple of weekends ago I picked up three different beers from the shop at Down House, an English Heritage property. I like to support them and always to try a new beer. Unfortunately, the first two have not impressed. And guess what?

3_Castles_Winter_Gold_Ale.jpg

"A golden bitter with blackcurrant fruitiness, hoppy flavours leading to a dry finish"

The first bottle ejaculated all over the kitchen bench, so that went down the sink. The second was just off/flat/meh.

3_Castles_Winter_Gold_Ale_beer.jpg

After a few mouthfuls, this went down the sink as well. Yes, there was some blackcurrant, but it was smothered by the nasty metallic off-ness all the beers have featured.

This was after I'd poured the second bottle of Nutcracker down the sink as well, so the final tally of six bottles of beer is that I finished two of them. It's not that I'm picky. Oh, sorry, yes, I am, but I will drink a beer that isn't to my taste if it's paid for. So these were really disappointing.

After this I had a Fullers 1845. A bottle-conditioned beer of great wonderfulness that is consistently good and sometimes amazing. And half the price.

Next week I might have the Dark Island, but for now I'm going with what I know.

This is posted as part of the #BeerSaturday challenge by @detlev. Earn some extra Steem by posting about beer!

Sort:  

That is too bad that the whole lot of the beers were crap. Very disappointing. Sounds like you wont be trying anything that comes out of that brewery again. At least you had something that you know you like available, to make up for it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I'm tempted to write to the brewery, just so they know there's a quality control issue.
And I'll try one if I see it in a pub, out of interest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66