Tipple Beer review #113 - Pirate Life Double IPA (Aust)

in #beersaturday5 years ago

Pirate Life with Beer (1 of 1).JPG

This week we are continuing a theme of beers that have been given to me. Last week I received a weird email from a work colleague

"Do you like stout?"

What this some very strange pick-up line, what it a codeword for some drug I'm not cool enough to know about - I figure play it straight "Yes, I like any good quality beer."

"I have some beer for you was the reply."

The next day when I arrived at work there it was two bottles of Hawkers bourbon barrel aged stout 2017 edition and this a Double IPA - both are uncommon beers, I haven't seen the person you emailed me since then so I have no idea where they came from and why she felt the need to give them to me, but I got free beer so I don't like to ask too many questions.

Now onto the beer. Pirate Life are from South Australia they where a fast growing independent brewery who were bought by AB InBev about 12 months ago - but they still produce great beer so I'm happy to still drink them.

Pirate Life Moody (1 of 1).JPG

This has stunning black packaging, big 500ml cans and a meal in itself at 8.8% alcohol

As soon as you pop the can you are assaulted with fruit hop aromas - mosaic dominates for me

It even looks like a strong brew, a deep orange colour. The taste is astounding well balanced, the wonderful marmalade like balance of malty sweetness combined with the fruit and bite of the hops.

Just a stunning brew.

And kids - go check out #BeerSaturday run by @detlev just here.... https://steemit.com/contest/@detlev/beer-even-more-beer-join-the-week-95-of-the-steem-beersaturday-challenge-to-win

Sort:  

I like that dark black style....

Feel free to use the #BeerSaturday pictures I made for the community like this one....

Love this drop. Great review.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's one of thier best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58866.42
ETH 2515.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46