Selective Pressure

in #beersaturday5 years ago

Puzzles and beer that my kind of adulting. Today’s beer is Selective Pressure by Speciations Artisan Ales. It’s a complicated beer, but very delicate. It’s a Foeder Aged Sour with Pomegranate, Vanilla, Blueberry.

B0B0624F-A9CE-40D0-A930-BEAAA4206540.jpeg

If you have not heard of a feeder aged beer you’re not alone. Basically, a foeder (pronounced FOOD-er) is really a large wooden vat. Typically they are used to age wine, but recently, many breweries have got a hold of them to age their sour beers.

78DA77CF-3DF7-41A4-9DCC-4D5DB6E281FC.jpeg
Source Image

Enough of the educational lesson. You came here for the beer review. Selective Pressure pours red with a purple hue. The head disappears so quickly you can barely make out the color. The aroma is sweet with a bit of sour funk. I pick up a tart blueberry smell on the backend.

2917B7B6-86FE-44F4-94C0-9B5EDE1D7EDF.jpeg

The flavor is crisp, light and fruity. It’s tartness is welcomed after the first hit of blueberry and pomegranate flavor. The middle is funky sour while the backend it all tart. So tart your freaking cheeks pucker. The mouthfeel is dry. Like seriously dry which is a great juxtaposition against the sweet fruit flavors. The beer is light because it’s very carbonated.

E32E8404-7388-42A8-B6E5-1DA1061AB7D6.jpeg

Overall, it’s a delicious beer. It’s got a high class kind of feel. Not to mention it’s hard AF to find. You know what that means? It’s also pricy. I’m glad to have tried it, but you would h e to cash your 401k in to buy a whole case.

Cheers,
Cryptictruth

Sort:  

Nice. I've been sticking away from fruit infused beers... ill have to look for this one. Interesting combinations... still looking to find time to sit down with a few local sours.

I’ve been on a fruited sour kick. It’s weird because I keep buying stouts, but I’m drinking my sour stash.

I am not sure I have ever had a sour beer. Probably the closest thing I have ever had is Elvis Juice by BrewDog. Have you ever had that? I visited the brewery down in Columbus a while ago and I have seen it in some of the party stores around Michigan and Ohio. It is probably one of the few IPA's I can handle.

I’ve not had much brew dog. They are hard to find near me... The only beer of theirs I see is the IPA which I ha e had a handful of times. I need to go to Ohio and check out the new spot and get a flight.

It is a pretty cool facility. There is a hotel attached and you can pick a keg for them to hook up in your room. It is very dog friendly too.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @jasonbu on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community.

Join the foodie fun! Check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Follow us for a FOODIE reward! We'd also love your support via delegation(recieve a 2x FOODIE reward) so that we can help spread gastronomic delights.

foodiesunite_small.png

Looks like a pretty good sour beer

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks very nice, it is a pity that it is so expensive!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56691.97
ETH 2499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23