Beer Tasting with Cryptictruth

in #beersaturday6 years ago

So I decided to dip out of work early for some good day drinking with a buddy. We decided to pack up the car and hit up a brewery that has made a good impression on a little community in mid Michigan. Abberant Ales is not wifey know outside of the area, but they are definitely an up and coming micro brewery in the area.

27304D43-E895-4A8D-8845-D2DC50323313.jpeg

I decided to grab a flight to see what new offerings were in tap. The last time I was here I sampled their core 5 brews so I decided to venture down their menu. I ended up getting the Stout De Olla, Hazy D And the Boyz, Dust And Daemons #4: Infused And Confused, and Here Comes the Hopstepper.

Stout De Olla is a sweet stout that was medium bodied with a lighter amount of carbonation. There was loads of malt and chocolate flavors that were both delicious and balanced. I did find it slighter sweet so I’m glad I only went with a taster.

F7B393E6-A211-4073-8EDE-CDC29CCDA229.jpeg

Hazy D And the Boyz is a mango infused NEIPA. It’s sweet and hoppy with a nice citrus and fruit backbone. This was one of my more favorite beers in the flight, but I’m also a hazy beer fanatic so that’s no surprise why I liked this one.

5359D398-85E0-4C9B-9A58-61FAEDA08A0A.jpeg

Dust And Daemons #4: Infused And Confused is what I would call a farmhouse ale. It has nice yeast characteristics. It was lighter and crisp which was a good cleanser for some of the heavier beers I was drinking.

4CF7D43F-2171-46DF-8423-69578A6E271C.jpeg

Here Comes the Hopstepper was proof he most interesting beer in the flight. It’s a brut IPA so it is dry and crisp with light hop notes. I’ve seen this style popping up and it actually a new style in the beer world. This beer would not be for everyone, but I sure liked it.

Overall, Abberant Ales did not disappoint. It was a great way to kill an afternoon with a good friend.

Cheers,
Cryptictruth

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

It was a winning flight which is not always the case. Cheers 🍻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks like you had a great time trying some good beers. I might have to check this place out if I am ever in the area!

I would recommend it. They are smaller family owned and have food which a winning combo in my book.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is a great combo! If you ever make it up to Sutton's Bay you should check out HopLot.

I’ve heard great things. I was up there last winter and was planning to go, but ended up not. I am up that way fairly often so I’ll definitely check it out.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was there several years ago and they hadn't been open that long, but I was really impressed. I have a co-worker that is up there all the time and she frequently checks in there on Facebook :)

I’ll report back when I check it out.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cryptictruth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58331.25
ETH 2509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34