Beer Tasting: a Journey of Flavor

in #beersaturday4 years ago

My journey for finding good beer takes me on many adventures. Mostly that involve finding cool hikes for the family and delicious beer for me. However, being that it’s the holidays this trip involved a different kind of hike - walking the many miles through a mall... Yes, I was so excited to fight off the mobs all shopping for the latest toy. I really should not complain because it was some quality time with my wife and that’s never a bad thing. So after a few hours of that We were both craving a beer and something go to eat. We ended up heading to Ascension Brewing Company. This is a favorite of ours so I know we would not be dissatisfied.

I opted for a flight because there were too many good beers to choose from.

EE04FC22-3B56-4B1B-B557-34E45335057C.jpeg

I ended up slicks a variety of styles which is the best way to get a true idea of how good a brewery truly can be. I know many breweries that do one style very well, Ascension does so many so well it puts them as one of my favorite breweries in the area. This beautifully dark stout is the Lamington nitro stout. As their description says, “this bee is inspired by the Australian dessert, Lamingto, which is a spongecake covered in chocolate and drizzled with coconut.” The beer is brewed with Bakers chocolate, cacao nibs, coconut, and vanilla bean which give it a nice complex flavor profile.

BF7B886B-F9FB-4222-8E10-4244136738F1.jpeg

This gem is a Rick and Morty fan favorite, Simple Rick. It’s a mixed fermenation saison ale brewed with pilsner and raw wheat. It’s light and simply refreshing.

2EC1E307-F9B0-47F5-ACB1-4524043D85A6.jpeg

The third beer is the first solo beer made by their newest brewers Ben and David! Spherical Differences is a hazy pale DDH w/ South African Queen, Strata and Motueka hops. It’s a nice medium texture beer that has some body and chew. It’s really juicy and sweet which makes it go down smooth. I’d crush a pint of this so fast.

14FD08B2-B10C-4AF6-A30C-C4720DD66EAB.jpeg

I failed to get a pic of last beer due to our food arriving. I got BBQ pork nachos that stole my attention because they were so freaking good.

Overall, we had a great time. It was the perfect way to unwind from a long day of shopping.

Sort:  

Hey @criptictruth, hope that the “shopping hike” was as successful as the “beer hike”

We had a race day yesterday as you see at the @detlev blog.

It was. Nothing like an urban hike with all the soccer moms.

I love me a good flight! They make for a good date night too I find with ladies who are not too big on beer. They can sip and sample and generally find one they can put up with, or even enjoy.

I wish I could taste that ddh first brew. Aggressive and unique it appears!

Posted using Partiko iOS

My thoughts exactly. It also give me the ability to not feel bad if I don’t a beer. I hate wasting alcohol lol. The DDH was good I thought the stout was my favorite.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73