Barrel and Beam

in #beersaturday5 years ago (edited)

So I’m pretty connected to the beer scene in Michigan, but Barrel and Beam slipped through my radar and I’m so glad I picked up this bottle because they are amazing!

This beer is called Terre Magique and it was brewed in collaboration with one of my favorite breweries, Speciations Artesian Ales.

34D80C00-AE1A-4FEA-927B-E115D1E2DEF9.jpeg

So the description i saw for this beer is short and sweet. It has blackberry and blackcurrant over mixed culture saison. This is such a boring description that it does not so this beer justice. Terre Magique pours a reddish pink to almost purple color. It’s a beautiful beer with a thin off white cap that clings to every inch of the glass.

6ACFEE37-C5E8-4303-BA28-F1E118AAA4CF.jpeg

The aroma reminds me of summer with fruit and earthy sour notes. I can pick up faint notes of citrus fruits and even some more complex smells like bread and yeast. As the beer warmed blackberry notes begin to overwhelm the nose which is to be expert, but as you finish you get a fine port scent that is sophisticated.

4D999C03-554F-41CF-8A26-57E1DBBB677F.jpeg

The first sip is like diving into a jar of freshly preserved blackberry jam. You know you are drinking a sour, but it’s not a blow your face off like some of the beers other breweries are producing. I also get more currant which is awesome that bitterness currant is a great counterpoint to the jam like sweetness of the blackberry.

8B7DB440-BF17-4105-8C0C-401F556CB82A.jpeg

The mouthfeel is rich with almost a desert like quality. It’s sweet, sour and fairly light with the mild carbonation. I find it to be a very good example of a sour saison. In face, I find it to be a great example of what good beer should be. If you can find this beer I’m sure you’ll enjoy. I would bet money on it!

Cheers,
Cryptictruth

Sort:  

Thanks man! It was a fine sour. I need to find more beers by them.

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @cryptictruth, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81