Jackie O's/Side Project - Appervation

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Man did I have high hopes for this. Heralded as one of the best non-adjunct BA stouts currently available, Appervation is a blend of JO's Apparition and Side Projects Derivation (hence the mashup name). Rolling in at 15%, I was expecting a boozy brownie punch to the face. While this did get me lit AF, it wasn't AS good as I have hoped. But I'm also constantly let down with hype so I almost prefer to drink things I've never heard of. Le sigh.

#beersaturday

JO appervation.jpg

Sort:  

Yes it’s a bummer to be underwhelmed with a beer you expect more from. But on the flip side, it’s also great to find a beer that is better than you expected. That’s happened to me in the last several I’ve tried!

Unfortunately I had to give up some good beer to land this one in a trade. So not as simple as finding it on a shelf. But it's all about the experience to me and I got to try something I probably wont try again, so not all a loss!

I agree - often it's better to go in knowing nothing, and surprise of finding a great beer you've never heard of makes me doubly happy.

This one was on the BA Top 250 list so I had definitely heard of it (hence the reason I traded up some good Bottle Logics stouts out of my cellar for). Glad I got to try, won't pursue another bottle by any means.

Sorry about the beer, better luck next time!! You must kiss a few frogs before finding the prince, LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97