Beer Review - Porter

Time for another beer review, this another porter, as you will come to find out about me, I love the dark beers, and porters are up there as some of my favorites. This another microbrew from the Western US. Here we go...................

Payette Brewing Company - Pistolero Porter

IMG-3443.JPG

Stats

  • Brewer: Payette Brewing Company, Boise, Idaho
  • Alcohol Content: 6% by volume
  • IBU: 13
  • Company Description: From the moment the saloon doors swing open, Pistolero makes its presence known in the room with full-bodied swagger and a dark allure of chocolate, roasted coffee notes and a mildly bittersweet, smoky finish. Your mind: "Mucho gusto." Your mouth: "Encantada." Saddle up for a few rounds for you and your roving band of amigas and amigos.

IMG-3444.JPG

Presentation
The Pistolero Porter is presented in a 12 oz can, which is standard for Payette Brewing, their year round line are all available in 12 oz cans. They have a standard label art presentation that varies in color with the beer types, the cans being the off-white and the art being a different color depending on the beer. Payette does offer a variety of beers in 22 oz bottles also, some limited releases and barrel aged stouts and porters. Again, as with most other beers, the standard labeling helps with brand recognition.

IMG-3446.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: The beer is a nice dark brown, nearly black, and pours out with a nice light brown head of foam that stays with the beer longer than most. A robust looking beer at the get go!
  • Aroma: A nice aroma of dark chocolates and coffee are detected on the pour.
  • Taste: A great tasting porter, hints of chocolate and coffee with a low bitterness make this, as I called it on Untappd "A damn fine Porter". Slightly smokey finish.
  • Mouthfeel: I would say the mouth feel is creamy/smooth, kind of melts in the mouth.
  • Drinkability: Well, I could drink a lot of these, the abv is relatively low so have a few at one sitting and enjoy.

IMG-3442.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


Well, what can I say, I liked it a lot, giving it a high mark of 4.5 on Untappd, where it got a moderate overall rating of 3.66, so clearly I liked it much better than most, but I will say that my higher quality friends (3) had an average of 4.25. Another great porter to try if you can find it, being a smaller brewery from the Western US, might not have a large distribution across the US let alone overseas.

4.5/5

This post will make it to #BeerSaturday soIf you do enjoy my review, go check the Week 36 contest out. Please feel free to comment and follow me @bigskycustoms. I plan to be adding a lot more beer reviews in the future. Thanks and Cheers!

Sort:  

This beer really looks like my type of beer - nice!!

It’s a good one! I love porters.

Very nice review. I could taste it as you described it. I make it to Salt Lake every now and again, maybe I'll look for it there. In the state alcohol oasis, of course. I think I need to work on the actual beers in my reviews, although they are fun to write. I'll look to yours for more of a format. Thanks.

Thanks, I’ve kind of decided on a style and held to it thank to some advice from others on here. It’s fun, you can check out a few of my others if you like dark beers.

I've only been experimenting with drinking different kinds of brews over the last few years. My award-winning son-in law is a very good brewer and he has been trying to educate me. But it's like wine and cigars, it takes a bit of time. But, I may try a dark beer next - or at least, soon. Thanks.

does your son-in-law brew on his own or for someone else? What Brewery (if for someone else). I like dark beers but not everyone does. Worth a try, though. I would stick with the less bitter ones if you are not used to dark beers.

He was the head brewer at Pizza Port here in Ocean Beach for a while. Then he moved on to Saint Archer's here in San Diego. He can sniff a beer and kinda tell you the hops in it and what they did to them. Damn. I will try some dark beer and let you know. Here, they take pride in IPA's, but they brew most everything.

If you’re in the sand Diego area, Ballast Point makes some good ones. Try their RedVelvet tho for sure, it’s amaxing

Ballast Point is well known here. Their Sculpin IPA is particularly popular. Believe it or not, there are about140 breweries in San Diego County. AleSmith, Karl Strauss, Stone, and more. One I really like, if you come across is Lost Abbey. They are Pizza Port's upscale brewery and every beer they make is excellent. Expensive, but good. I'll keep my eye out for Red Velvet.Looking forward to it.

Unfortunately most of those beers don’t make it up this way. I see stone a lot but mostly their ipas which I don’t really like. I’ll keep an eye out for some though, thanks!

Nother winner eh? How has the beer subscription been going?

Good I’m due February shipment end of the week or early next week plus I bought another case of older releases too so will get a bunch. Hope to hit up big head bottle shop Saturday also

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68518.46
ETH 3760.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66