Beer Review - Nitro Porter

Another beer sent to me by my friend in North Dakota. This is a nitro porter from a Salt Lake City brewery. It became available in Montana after I had agreed to have my friend mail it to me so I held off on buying one until the package arrived.

Wasatch Brewing - Polygamy Nitro Porter

IMG-3858.JPG

Stats

  • Brewery: Wasatch Brewing - Salt Lake City, Utah.
  • Alcohol Content: 6.0% by volume
  • IBUs: 30
  • Company Description: She's on Nitro! Meet the sister-wife of our classic brew. This nitrogenated version is as chocolately and easy drinkin' as the original but even softer and creamier. It's OK to love them both.

IMG-3860.JPG
IMG-3859.JPG

Presentation
This beer came in a 12 oz can with classic era graphics mirroring the regular Polygamy porters but with a different color scheme. The graphics are kind of humorous showing a man with 3 woman, this beer from Utah, heart of Mormon religion. There were also instruction on how to pour a nitro and the blurb I used above as the company description. It appears that Wasatch has recently switched to using cans.

IMG-3856.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: A deep brown color with a classic nitro foam head on the pour, which was to dump with abandon into the glass. The Nitro foam head evened out pretty quickly.
  • Aroma: Smelled of chocolate and coffee.
  • Taste/Mouthfeel: Smooth in the mouth as expected with a nitro. The tastes were classic coffee and chocolate tones in this porter. It was a bit on the mild side though.
  • Drinkability: Easy drinking beer, went down smooth and quick.

IMG-3857.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


I liked this beer, a classic porter smoothed out with the nitro addition. I rated it a solid 4.25 on Untappd, where i had 4 friend ratings average 3.81 and overall with 18,000 people rating it 3.73, so a pretty well liked beer. I appear to have liked it more than most others but then I like porters more than most others. A great beer which is probably even better on tap with the nitro, I would recommend to others.

4.25/5

Thanks for reading my review. Hope you enjoyed it. This will be in the Week 43 of #beersaturday contest so if you get a chance head on over there and give me a nod. https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/here-we-go-again-steemit-beersaturday-challenge-week-43
Cheers!!

Sort:  

I'm heading up there in a month and I'll have to try it. I had some years ago (non-nitro) and I really don't remember. But - I have the Hat! Pictures are getting really good!
Imgur

That’s a great hat! Yeah check them out and let me know how it is on tap.

I've had the non-nitro version and found it tasty enough. I found out about this beer by seeing adds in the airport: "Polygamy Porter: Take some home to the wives."

thats funny! I actually have not had the regular polygamy porter but i have had the barrel aged version. Congrats on your beersaturday win for Week 42!

Sounds like a good tasting Porter.
I like the glass!

It was really tasty! That’s my Montana State Bobcat glass, one of my two alumni colleges

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 20:43:01
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 125.35/200.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66612.27
ETH 2467.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60