Beer Review - Espresso Milk Stout with a twist!

Its been a few days since I have posted a beer review, bet you thought I was gone. Oh No, not on your life. Here for a new one, that will be posted in #Beersaturday, Week 38 version, also. Here goes. This one is interesting.

Feckin Brewery - Feckin De Los Muertos

IMG-3604.JPG

Stats

  • Brewery: Feckin Brewery and Smokehouse - Oregon City, Oregon
  • Alcohol Content: 5.8% by volume
  • IBUs: 30
  • Company Description: I actually couldn't find a company description of this particular beer. But is is billed as an Espresso Milk Horchatta Porter.

IMG-3605.JPG

Presentation
This guy comes in a 22 oz dark brown bottle with a single label on the main body of the bottle, and a plain black cap. I have had other Feckin beers and they all come in the same package, I have not seen anything other than 22 oz bottles. this particular bottle label is an cool art of a skeleton drinking a beer that is running through its body, with Spanish text on the label, which I can read so it is lost on me. :)

IMG-3606.JPG

The Beer

  • Appearance: This beer pours out a dark dark color, thick appearing with a beautiful mocha colored head on it that lasted for several minutes. It is a thing of beauty to see it, causing the mouth to salivate anticipating the darkness held within.
  • Aroma: As expected, it is all of the espresso coffee aroma on the pour.
  • Taste: What can I say? It tastes like rich dark espresso with chocolate hints, smooth and luxurious. This is a great coffee tasting beer for those who like that, mmmmmm.
  • Mouthfeel: pretty smooth in the mouth, with the rich dark coffee finish.
  • Drinkability: Well I found it drinkable, relatively low abv at 5.8%, but it is thick and rich so you won't be pounding 3-4 22ozers but one, will make for an enjoyable evening.

IMG-3607.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


I rated this beer a 4.5 on Untappd, which is pretty high and I really liked it. But I like coffee Porters, so this one is one of the better ones, although a tad on the bitter side, it is just so rich and smooth. Overall Untappd ratings were hard to gauge for this as there is also a bourbon barrel aged version and I think people were confused on which they were drinking, as there was only one other rating for the 5.8% version which was a 3.75 from clearly a hater. So as you all know by now if you have been reading my reviews, I like dark beers, porter and coffee so this one is a winner in my book.

4.5/5

This post will make it to #BeerSaturday so if you do enjoy my review, go check the Week 38 contest out and give it a vote over there also. Please feel free to comment and give me a follow. I will be adding a lot more beer reviews in the future. Thanks and Cheers!

Sort:  

The bottle is sweet! Sounds like the beer was just as good

Yeah pretty cool bottle was surprised the blurb on side was in Spanish tho, beer was really good

Probably in spanish only because of the de los muertos

I don't know, it is an Oregon brewery unless they are targeting migrant workers or something, I have no idea what the side panel says.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53