Beer Review - ESB by Redhook Brewing

Red Hook Brewing is a microbrewery in Seattle, Washington that has been around for a while. I spotted this beer, their ESB, Extra Special Bitter, listed on Untappd as a Strong Bitter, in my local beer and wine store, Vintage Sellers. I have sampled several other Red Hook beers with mixed results, some I liked, some not so much. This is Red Hook's flagship beer which has been brewed by them since the mid-1980s.

Red Hook Brewing - ESB

IMG-4239.JPG

Stats

  • Brewery: Red Hook Brewing Company - Seattle, Washington
  • Alcohol Content: 5.8% by volume
  • IBUs: 28
  • Company Description: Redhook’s flagship beer got its start as a winter seasonal recipe in the mid 80’s. In the early years, Extra Special Bitter earned a reputation as ‘banana beer’ and has been brewed continuously since 1987. ESB’s caramel malt sweetness and subtle spice and fruit hop flavors, quickly defined the style, becoming Seattle’s definitive craft beer and inspiring a new wave of craft beers across the country.

IMG-4240.JPG

Presentation
This beer came in an old style dark brown bottle, at 12 oz, in a semi-stubby shape. It has a 2/3 wrap around label on the main body with Red Hook's classic label style with red, yellow and green graphics. One side of the label has some words about the beer, talking about the English tradition of a bitter which isn't bitter at all.

IMG-4241.JPG

The Beer

  • Aroma: It had a sweet aroma with floral spiciness.
  • Appearance: It was a copper colored beer with a thick off-white foam head.
  • Taste/Mouthfeel: It had moderately high carbonation with a sweetness to it, not bitter at all. Caramel and toffee with some breadiness and banana taste.
  • Drinkability: A very drinkable beer, sweet and smooth.

IMG-4242.JPG

Rating and Final Thoughts


I gave this beer a solid 4.00 on Untappd, where friends rated it an average of 3.50 and overall with 61k ratings, 3.42. I was an above average rater, I really liked this beer, didn't expect it to be so sweet and tasty when i bought it, so that was a pleasant surprise. A long standing NW US beer which has been around a long time, so you know it is good.

4.00/5

This is going into #beersaturday Week 51's contest, so head on over and give me a boast there to increase my chances of winning there. Here is a bonus photo, Beer N BBQ from this past weekend.

IMG-4243.JPG

Sort:  

This was of my early micro finds I had as well. I have always enjoyed this one too.

I like the shape of the bottle. The sticker is like a shirt too small on a guy ^^

yes the bottle has a different shape than normal beer bottles. funny analogy.

Redhook was the first microbrew I ever had and the first beer I truly enjoyed. It was a Redhook IPA (their original IPA, before the Longhammer IPA) that a friend gave me at a bbq when I was 18 or 19. Microbrews had not really taken off yet and I had only had cheap shit beer up until that point like Natty Ice or Red Dog(whatever happened to Red Dog) or some Ranier I managed to steal from my dad. I didn't know beer could actually taste good.

I remember red dog used to drink that too! 😀

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-01T01:31:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 343.75/200.00
Total Photos: 56
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Not to bust your balls too hard, but Red Hook makes about 2500,000 barrels a year, so it’s not a microbrewery. It’s partly owned by Anheuser, too.
“One side of the label has some words about the beer...” my favorite line.

thanks for the heads up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68