Tomislav - The Beer which made me love beer

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

I had my first beer with my grandfather as soon as I could walk. I started drinking when I was 13, but it wasn't for the next two years that I realized what the real beer was.
At 15 I was at the concert where my friends band played. Everyone from my high school, who listened to rock, was there. At the time I could already handle 4-5 beers, but I was drinking something I call piss with bubbles right now. A commercial lager from Croatia called Ožujsko.

At the end of that night Hrabren, a friend of mine who is 3 years older gave me a bottle cap saying: "To remember the evening by!". I pocketed the cap without giving it much thought and went on to say my goodbyes for the night.
Once I was in a train on my way home, I took the cap out and it was a goldish cap with only one word in black letters written there: Tomislav.


28459591_10212939757983283_596658930_o.jpg


A full bottle of Tomislav from that time (on the left), next to the current bottle of Tomislav (on the right)


I was already intrigued, the name of the first Croatian king is Tomislav, and I come from a small village in vicinity of Tomislavgrad. I thought to myself, Hrabren knows about beers and he is drinking this. I will give it a try next weekend.

Next weekend we were again in the same club, and I ordered Tomislav. I poured it, and pitch black liquid with a thick foam filled the glass. I loved it before I tasted it, that was my first encounter with a dark beer and as a little metalhead how could I not love something that is black!

Then I tasted it. Compared to the bubbled piss I was drinking before it rocked my senses. It's flavor was full, it was bittersweet and it felt thick. It is also strong (7.3%), which I didn't notice at the time. Five of those fuckers later and I was laying in the middle of the road in front of the club, with my earphones on, singing The Man Who Sold The World. I fell in love with dark beers instantly.

From that night I started experimenting with beers, and have drunk hundreds different beers since that time. After all those years I still have huge respect for the king (now I can drink around 10 of those without singing a single verse from The Man Who Sold The World). I consider it a best buy beer in Croatia. It is not as amazing as some Belgian beers, but while you will spend 25-35 kn (3.5 - 5 €) on one of those, Tomislav will cost you 12-18 kunas.


28408190_10212952748788045_1902744715_o.jpg


28313820_10212952750148079_1938278240_n.jpg


28500519_10212952752228131_267050123_o.jpg


After honoring the king, by drinking few Tomislavs last night (these in particular costed 12 kn (0.4 sbd) per bottle I went for a concert. It was a concert of the Croatian etno/electro band Kries. Unfortunately they only served the bubbly piss on the venue, so I had to do with a few of those.


28418329_10212952752948149_1017552612_o.jpg


28408048_10212952878551289_1671961211_o.jpg


Although the beer on the venue sucked, the band was amazing. They played for more than a two hours, and created a great atmosphere. The concert got us all in high spirits and after it finished we switched the venue for a nearby pub to drink a few more Tomislav's and some rakija (if you don't know what rakija is, well I feel really sorry as mere words can't describe that drink)!

For the end, I leave you with a song by Kries, while I leave for a few more Tomislavs.



Sort:  

Ah, always nice to see a beer review pop up in my feed. I've never heard of Tomislav (not surprising, since I'm in USA), but I see it's a Baltic Porter, and I really love baltic porters. They're somewhat hard to find commercial, and almost never on tap, so it's a treat to get a taste.

Even here it is hard to find on tap, but I know places :) If you ever come to Zagreb send a message and I will be glad to show you where to go for beers here.

Heej, pa uspio si nabavit karte :D
Nikad nisam probala Tomislav pivu, al evo prva sljedeća će morat bit, baš me zanima okus!

Uspio nabavit karte i koncert bio vrh! Pričat ću sutra u na glasovnoj. :)
A ako ne prije imaš na steemfestu Tomicu od mene!

My brother, you are really one big PIJANAC. :P My mom loves black bear though. Even though she should not drink it, it is stronger than her. lol It must be love. :)

Like everybody in Croatia, we start at an early age with drinking. Just another perk of being a Croatian. lol

Thank you for the compliment sir! Send my regards to your mom, she has a good taste. A ovo zadnje, pogotovo kad si s juga ;)

Nema do Tome. ❤
Kad netko o tomislavu pise ima moj follow i like!😜

Znači prvo sam otkrio danas da imaš odličan glas, a sad još i ovo, pa imaš doživotne upvote <3

Sounds like a great beer and I loved the history. In USA we also have way too much carbonated piss. But, each to their own. So Cal is the land of hoppy IPA's, but I'm branching out to other darker beers. You might be interested in my look at RedVelvet this week. So, you might feel somewhat at home here. :-)) Thanks for the review, I really enjoyed it.

I checked it out and your style of writing is really fun! I am not a big fan o IPA's, I prefer malty ales if I have a choice, but I won't refuse a good IPA if it is offered :P

Congratulations @arrrados! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62613.51
ETH 3019.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93