Reel Deel Brewery Jack the Lad Irish Pale Ale Review 🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

This week, I'm going local with an Irish Pale Ale

So I was in the local supermarket to quickly, and I stress quickly, grab a few bits for the dinner. And, as tends to happen, I had a quick peak at the craft beer section to see was there anything new and low and behold there were a few new ones and sure it'd be rude not to!!

This was one of them - I loved the name and the bottle art, so it was off to a good start as the fella says..

Screenshot_2018-08-29-20-18-23.png

There we have it! This week's beer of the week is Jack the Lad Irish Pale Ale

So I got home for the supermarket and I had to get dinner cooked, kids bathed and kids to bed before kicking back with a cold beer, and I had a problem, the beer was warm, as it was on a shelf in the supermarket..

Fear not, I had time, a fridge-freezer and a brain :o)

Before

Screenshot_2018-08-29-20-30-18.png

After

Screenshot_2018-08-29-20-30-04.png

Just look at that frosty glass

Screenshot_2018-08-29-20-29-35.png

The Info

Brewery: Reel Deel Brewing Company
ABV:4.5%
Can: 500ml
Recommended Temp: 9 degrees celsius

The verdict

This one poured a nice golden colour with a hint of red. The first thing noticed was the carbonation! Holy shitballs... The entire glass was froth initially.. So this one was certainly over carbonated and gassy. Maybe my freezer treatment contributed to this?

Screenshot_2018-08-29-20-29-27.png

Even my little leprechaun is asking "Why so much gas!?"

Screenshot_2018-08-29-20-18-43.png

Once the bubbles eventually disapatted, I tried this new Pale Ale.. it was crisp and I did get some notes of citrus, pine and grapefruit, but malty tones of biscuit and caramel were more to the fore, which is a negative for me in an IPA.

So, the beer was refreshing and ok I guess, but I wouldn't be in a rush to try another one anytime soon.

I enjoyed this one with some bombay mix. You've got to have a snack with a beer, don't ya!?

Screenshot_2018-08-29-20-17-58.png

The Grade

2.25/5


Thank you @detlev for keeping this going week after week for over a year now. Go check out his page, he's a very interesting guy and really knows his beers.

Peace out.

Ablaze.jpg

Sort:  

I like that you were in a rush and stressed but still had time to just 'take a peak' at the beer section - priorities are important.

There's always time to take a peak at the beer section, rush or no rush :o)

@ablaze Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

I agree, the art work on the bottle is great, and I love the frosted glass, a beer should be ice cold!!

Your right there @rynow, nothing like a frosty cold beer and nothing worse than an tepid warm beer..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58647.58
ETH 2550.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50