Pogo Pale Ale Review - Beer and a bath! 🍻💧

in #beersaturday6 years ago

Another funky Pale Ale for me this week

I bought this one about a month ago and put it in my beer/wine rack and kind of forgot about it. I spotted it last week and stuck it in the fridge to get it nice and chilled. A few days passed before I got a chance to try it.

Then one evening after work, I was putting a few washes of clothes on, cooking the dinner and keeping an eye on the kids in the back garden, so I was busy in the kitchen and suddenly after a change of direction - BANG - a sudden pain in the shoulder.. Like something popped out of place.. and it wasn't popping back... It was really sore and I couldn't figure out what I'd done..

After a while I figured a nice hot bath might help.. Now a bath for me is a rarity, I'm a shower every morning kind of guy and rarely find the time for a bath - maybe once a year and every time I think bloody he'll in should do this more often! Ad I was about to run the bath in thought, aha, that new IPA is still in the fridge, why don't I bring that to ease the pain, and it did, or maybe it was the bath 😆

Screenshot_2018-09-07-07-01-30.png!

After that long winded intro, this week's beer of the week is Pogo Pale Ale.

I had to be pretty careful here.. the last thing I needed was a broken beer glass in my bath or on the bathroom floor!

Screenshot_2018-09-07-07-01-11.png

The lifeguard on duty, aka Rubber Ducky approves..

Screenshot_2018-09-07-07-01-24.png

The Info

Brewery: The Wild Beer Brewing Company
ABV:4.1%
Can: 330ml

Screenshot_2018-09-07-07-00-49.png

The verdict

Poured a cloudy golden colour with decent sized white head. Nice smell of tropical hops with passion fruit guava on opening. I could tell it would be zesty and that I'd like it.

Once I had it poured, I got into the hot hot bath and straight away the shoulder felt better and then better again after having a sip of this IPA.

Tropical fruit, orange peel, lemon juice, light guava and some pine resin all recognisable in the taste. This was really refreshing and I'll defo be trying this again.

Screenshot_2018-09-07-07-02-05.png

The Croc and Buddha approve!

Screenshot_2018-09-07-07-02-30.png

I enjoyed this one with a delicious Dime bar, it's top of my chocolate bar list... Mmmmmmm Dime bar...

Screenshot_2018-09-07-07-01-50.png

The Grade

3.5/5


Thank you @detlev for keeping this going week after week for over a year now. Go check out his page, he's a very interesting guy and really knows his beers.

Peace out.

Ablaze.jpg

Sort:  

Very nice review, man!
Beer in the bath is something that sounds very cool and relaxing. I myself had this once or twice!

Hehe, cheers! This really seems a nice beer.

Ya it was a really decent beer to be fair, only 2nd ever beer in the bath... It's the business!

Heat yourself up to boiling point with the hot bath and then cool yourself down to close to zero degrees with an ice cold beer - nice!!

Yep, that was it exactly, cant beat a bit of contrast!

Wild beer make some great beers, also I was kind of concerned this beer in a bath was going into a NSFW space....

Ha ha ha, apologies for that!!! A fair enough concern!

@ablaze Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82