Lough Gill Brewing Company's Native IPA Review 🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago

The West of Ireland is our beer location this week

Having gone across the Irish Sea to Scotland last week to review Brewdog's wonderful Elvis Juice, this week I opted for a local Irish brew from Sligo on Ireland's West coast.

I must admit it has a lot to do to come close to Elvis Juice, which knocked my socks off last week. So, here we go.

Sláinte, Cheers, Bottoms up!

Screenshot_2018-09-30-01-16-24.png

So this week's beer of the week is Lough Gill Brewing Company's Native IPA

Screenshot_2018-09-30-01-18-02.png

This one kind of fell at the first hurdle and I'm not sure why I even picked it up in the first place, as the can art and name are very average. Let's hope the smell and taste makes up for it.

Time to crack one open.

Screenshot_2018-09-30-01-17-56.png

The Info

Brewery: Lough Gill
ABV:5.5%
Can: 400ml

I enjoyed some of my favorite crisps (chips as my American friends call them) with this beer. They a hickory barbecue flavor and they are delicious. I'm a sucker for any food with the word barbecue or smoked anywhere in the description!

Screenshot_2018-09-30-01-16-12.png

The verdict

So was the beer as good as the crisps!? Nope, not by a long shot. I liked the copper colour of this one as it tool refuge in my glass, but there wasn't much more to like.

The initial smell on opening was quite promising, but this faded quickly and the taste was overly bitter and not palatable. I only had time for one beer this evening, so I was now wishing I had opted for Elvis Juice and not this sub standard IPA.

Here is a picture of the head, which hasn't been too bad in fairness.

Screenshot_2018-09-30-01-16-04.png

Screenshot_2018-09-30-01-15-52.png

Suffice to say, I won't be trying this again anytime soon, or ever!

The Grade

1.5/5


Thank you @detlev for keeping this going week after week for over a year now. Go check out his page, he's a very interesting guy and really knows his beers.

Peace out.

Ablaze.jpg

Sort:  

Let me first say I’m jealous you can go to brew dog. That’s in my beer travel bucket list. This sounds like a solid beer. I particularly like the can it’s got bold graphics.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Man, you don't do that to peole who have been beer-deprived since december

Ha ha ha, sorry man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64