Brewdog Brewery's Elvis Juice IPA Review 🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

I've gone across the sea to Scotland this week

Nope, I havnt physically gone over, although that would be sweet! I just opted for a well known Scottish brewery for this week's beer. I've reviewed Brewdog a couple of times before, and they were both great. In my the review comments for one of them, I remember someone recommending Elvis Juice, so when I spotted it at the supermarket in a nice little four pack, I said Boom 💥 I'll be having those and their four pack cousin of Punk IPA too for good measure. It was €10 for the Elvis Juice 4 pack and €8 for the Punk IPA.

Sláinte, Cheers, Bottoms up!

Screenshot_2018-09-20-08-31-19.png

So this week's beer of the week is Brewdog's Elvis Juice Grapefruit Infused IPA

Screenshot_2018-09-20-08-31-10.png

So the first decision was which to go for first? It had to be the Elvis Juice, as I was itching to see what it was like. Strangely enough, I really don't like grapefruit juice, so there was a real risk in wouldn't like it, but you've gotta to try it to know as the fella says.

So Elvis Juice, let's be having you!

Screenshot_2018-09-20-08-31-23.png

The Info

Brewery: Brewdog
ABV:5.6%
Can: 330ml
Malts: Cara, Extra Pale
Hops: Amarillo, Citra, Magnum, Mosaic, Simcoe
What they say: An American IPA with a bitter edge that will push your citrus tolerance to the brink and back; Elvis Juice is loaded with tart pithy grapefruit peel. This IPA has a caramel malt base, supporting a full frontal citrus overload - grapefruit peel piled on top of intense us aroma hops. Waves of crashing pine, orange and grapefruit round out this citrus infused IPA.

Screenshot_2018-09-20-08-30-56.png

The verdict

The smell is fresh cut grapefruit upon opening. It's smells really fresh and I fill my nostrils again before pouring. Out pours a beautiful stream of copper coloured beer, forming a decent sized white head.

Screenshot_2018-09-20-08-30-31.png

I can tell that I'm going to like it, as the glass nears my lips. The taste is of grapefruit, citrus rind, with some nice resinous piney hops and caramel malt coming through.

This beer is really refreshing and sessionable and I will be stocking up with a few more four packs very soon.

And what better way to enjoy this little cracker than with a helping of Champions League football.

Screenshot_2018-09-20-08-32-25.png

The Grade

4.0/5

The king lives on

Let's finish with a song in recognition of the cool beer name. Here's my fav Elvis song:


Thank you @detlev for keeping this going week after week for over a year now. Go check out his page, he's a very interesting guy and really knows his beers.

Peace out.

Ablaze.jpg

Sort:  

I was salvitating reading about this beer! Will definitely be stocking up on this for the winter ;)

I must agree it is a great song, the beer sounds good too!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54