Zeke's Sweet Hops - Beers with a Story

in #beer6 years ago

zekes-hops.jpg

Most will know that I have a flare for the story behind something. Peel back the layer of the onion a little as they say. I also have a love of the brew. So, it makes complete sense that I find enjoyment in the beers that come packaged with a story, or some sort of multidimensional brand.

This brand can never be strong enough to cover for shitty beer mind you. But a decent beer with a neat alter-ego is enough to attract the marketing beer addict in me.

IMG_5287.JPG

Here, we have IPA Number 8 https://collectiveartsbrewing.com/beer/ipa-8/ from Collective Arts Brewery https://collectiveartsbrewing.com/beer/. A double IPA can be anything from alcohol overdose to sheer awesomeness when it is done right. This one is pretty close to the latter with serious taste and it doesn't feel like you are drinking a barley wine. When you look at the link, you will see it described as such...
"Our biggest and just possibly our most beautiful IPA Series release to date. IPA #8 is double dry hopped with Simcoe, Moutere and Columbus hops, so you should expect a cloudy bright pour and intense fruit, dank citrus and pine notes. Best enjoyed as soon as you can get it in your house."

text15.png

IMG_5288.jpg

The story, or neat thing behind is that Collective arts also features the art of a Canadian artist as the label. It might be seen as a shortcut to branding as the in-house artists just need to pick a neat font and center an image. The beauty in this though is the artist gets to take the front seat, and it is Chris Morin of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada (That is always a funny mouthful to my American friends.)

text15.png

IMG_5289.jpg

This one is Juicy Ass IPA http://www.flyingmonkeys.ca/juicy-ass/ by Flying Monkeys Brewery http://www.flyingmonkeys.ca/(hit that website and play with the interface if you are in a psychedelic mood). It is really clear and distinctly tasty for a Juicy IPA (which I find tends to be cloudy and a bit funky but not this one.)

text15.png

IMG_5290.jpg

The short story behind this one is right on the can.

The medium length story was told to me by the rep the hits the beer festival here every year when he told me about how the government-run liquor store said they shouldn't use the word "ass" in a product on their shelves. Flying Monkeys told them, more or less, to go screw themselves (which they had previously done with Smash Bomb IPA which inappropriately promoted getting smashed.....!?!?!?)

The long story is behind the link which reads:

SERVE WITH

Perfect for North America’s favourite fried or rich pub foods, classic fish ‘n chips, Indian curries, caramelized grilled meats, and creamy cheeses like brie or gorgonzola.
icon

TASTE

With CTZ, Citra, Mosaic, and Amarillo hops in the boil; more Amarillo, Citra, Mosaic, and Simcoe steeping in the whirlpool; and an additional dry-hopping of these same sweet succulent hops, Juicy Ass glistens with an unfiltered golden colour erupting with aromas of tangerine, pine, citrus, and a touch of caramel. Fat bready malts join in the sassy, slightly hazy body of the medium-paced carbonation in this 6.5% beer followed by a suggestively plump, resinous hop finish.

STYLE

Craft Beer enthusiasts have a cult-like obsession with the IPA. Once a beer lover graduates to the enjoyment of this resinous hoppy brew, there’s no turning back. Not ‘roided up with bitterness, this hazy, unfiltered brew celebrates juicy IPAs with an ambrosia of fruity hops creating a smooth flavourful brew dripping with hop goodness, not just harsh IBUs."

text15.png

I have SO many beer reviews saved up that I could probably stop drinking for a month.....but probably wont.

zekepickleman.jpg

Have any good beer yourself this week?

text15.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Zeke Pickleman is in the building!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love a good craft beer... the industry is still very small here in South Africa... but we're getting there... I've even got my own out already #BeerIsLife ;-)

Yah me too.

It is good to hear that the industry is starting to pick up in South Africa. I don’t know too many folks from that part of the world but liked everyone I met from there!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well... if you ever come to visit, you're more than welcome to pop over for a braai (aka BBQ) and a cold one \m/

Hah never even heard of "double IPA".. what's wrong on the alcohol overdose btw? :D btw I have a friend in Saskatoon :D my almost ex haha :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Double ipa generally stands for even MORE sport hopping and often is much higher alcohol content.

I am fine with the higher alcohol (hence my enjoyment of ipas which are generally at least 6%) but am starting to get picky when the alcohol taste interferes with the sweetness and hoppiness.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome review and photos! You've got my mouth watering for some good craft beer! It's difficult to keep up the supply to match the demand in my home!

If you are in the USA, there is more craft beer in every little corner I have ever been to. I bet if you name a town, I could find something I would love to try from there.

Here, the trend is supposed to be too many beers to choose from and some breweries faltering this year because they can’t get repeat customers for all the supply and variety.

We will see!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I would actually just buy the beer or a product for its neat packaging. :D The beer cans here in Malaysia are all so boring.

Yupp I've been thinking the same for months since zeke started to post these beer series :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha yah. My hometown is a university town where social drinking was the norm so I come by it honestly.

You write what you know and I am just glad people enjoy it here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The marketing guy and graphic design buff that I am often makes me cringe a little at the noisy brand and the cacophonous design on some of them.

It is really competitive though so I understand the need to stand out. The beer is damn good though!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Would love to take a sip on the good beer with you and @matkodurko if ever there's a chance we meet halfway. :D

Europe, Malaysia, and Canada. I think half way would have to be some sort of steemfest or #powerhousecreatives gathering unless you both want to visit me here!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm thinking a #powerhousecreatives gathering :)

Great topic!! Loving the artwork and my mouth is watering. Personally, I like a beer with a higher percentage and particularly love to drink Trappist ales as they have such a deep taste. Keep up the good work as it's been great to see something different on steemit :)

Ah yes Trappist ales are so good and we rarely see them on this side of the pond. I had a few while in the Netherlands and each of them were so awesome. Nothing like a beer recipe that is as old as my country!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nothing like a beer recipe that is as old as my country!
Well, if it isn't broke why fix it? ;) Seems we have a common point as I too found trappist ale while in the Netherlands :) Great country and the locals are bonkers!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and/or a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Thanks bug!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love this damn cool looking cans.

If I see one, I have to empty it...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57