Lambic Stout

in #beer2 years ago

Today I came across something which I had expected to be revolting, yet at the same time came from a sufficiently renowed brewery, that I wanted to try it:

Lambic-stout:

image.png

Stout is a beer style known to most people: black, sometimes more on the burnt side, sometimes more on the sweet side, sometimes watery, sometimes almost thick as oil, but always recognizeable as stout.

Lambic is almost it's polar oposite:

A lightcoloured, flat beer. Produced in a small area in Brussels, highly acidic due to the spontaneous fermentation by Brettanomyces bruxellensis.

Lambic is hard to come by, due to the fact that it spoils quickly, but when different ages of it are blended and bottled, it produces Oude Geuze, which is also a great beer style.

I like stout, I like lambic, but I couldn't imagine the blend of them. ALso because I consider lambic and Geuze to be summer beers, and Stour to be in general more fitted to cold winter evenings

Specifically this beer consists of Timmermans Lambic, and Guiness export stout, and guiness West Indies Porter.

Historically speaking, porter was the original style of dark black beer, and when it fell out of fashion, it was superseded by a stronger version, which became known as stout. Today it is hard to find a clear reasoning behind the Stout/Porter classification. TO me the Guinness export stout is indeed a stout, and I'm not familiar with the Guinness West Indies Porter to pronounce judgement.

The lambic-stout was a great experience, combining the refreshing acidity of the lambic, with the more full bodied character of the stout. At no point was it an incongruous or dissonant experience. At 6% an easy drinking thirst quencher, yet a flavorful experience.

I will have to find this beer again, and taste it again, preferably at a somewhat warmer temperature. Now I drank it straight from a way too cold tap, but it is available in large bottles as well.

Sort:  

Thanks for the intro. It seems to be a creative mix. Can't imagine it... Guinness gives me a fantastic experience when I live in Dublin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44