HOPPY HOUR: UNION JACK IPA

in #beer7 years ago

IMG_3727.JPG

I didn't want the weekend to end. I had one last beer from my custom Wegman's 6 pack and I knew this bottle could be the one to end my weekend right.

This beer is made by Firestone Brewery and is called the Union Jack IPA.

IMG_3716.JPG

The first sip was like a scene from Living Color where the comedian is so good he gets an audience member to laugh while drinking and consequently spray fluids everywhere.

IMG_3711.JPG

I'm not sure if it was the heavy foam or a lack of hydration, but I coughed with beer in my mouth, which is a no-no on several counts. I cleaned up my mess and made sure no one was watching.

IMG_3724.JPG

I want to take a moment to comment on the fomay head of this beer. I got a two inch high head of foam without trying. This is a super foamy beer which means the sips will be very smooth. Indeed, these gulps go down like velvet.

IMG_3726.JPG

This turns to be a minor problem for a beer taster. I need to describe the beer and instead I finished the bottle trying to chase the flavor like Alice chasing the white rabbit.

After the first sip, there was a flurry of aftertastes and then nothing. The second and third sip uncovered more as a honey caramel curtain revealed a very pleasant flavor similar to my favorite apple: Macintosh apple 🍎.

IMG_3718.JPG

It wasn't precisely a Macintosh flavor, but was a close cousin to it. A light tartness, mild sweetness, and bold crisp could be tasted in the third to fifth sip. After that, I was looking into an empty bottle and wishing I bought more.

IMG_3725.JPG

Sort:  

@oneuponatime and @twiceuponatime can you explain your flags? These are all my pictures and content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82