Beer review: Salty Barbara from AleBrowar Brewery

in #beer6 years ago

5en.png

Today I’m going to review one of the most untypical beer styles I had ever chance to deal with. This style is Gose. It was brewed mostly in Germany in the Leipzig and the town named Goslar which is placed next to the river called Gose, so there is a reason why this style is called like that. It is considered to be one of the oldest beer styles in the world, its beginnings is dating to around 996. So, what is so untypical in this beer? Well, it is brewed with salt and coriander! Three years ago I had no idea about this style until I tried it for the first time. The feeling was incredible, so I’m tasting Gose from time to time. And this is happening today also, because the beer I choose for tasting and reviewing is called Salty Barbara and it’s Gose with the rhubarb from the AleBrowar Brewery.

Let’s start with short characteristics and parameters of Salty Barbara.

Style: Gose with Rhubarb
BLG: 12°
ABV: 4,7% *
IBU: 15
Malts: Pilsner, Wheat, Carared®
Additions: Oatmeal, Salt, Coriander, Rhubarb juice (cold-pressed)
Hops: Hallertauer Tradition (DE)
Yeast: White Labs WLP029 German Ale/Kolsch

AleBrowar Brewery is known from their colorful and funny labels and in this case it is also like that. But the very important fact about this label is that it contains all needed information including suggested glass and temperature of serving. In terms of information, for me it is a role model.

IMG_20180302_111551-1.jpg

IMG_20180302_111609-1.jpg

IMG_20180302_111446-1.jpg

The cap is also quite interesting.

IMG_2664-1.jpg

When poured into a glass, the beer presents very cool. It has a great colour which can be described as orange or maybe more gold-ish. It is also quite hazy. The head is thick, very impressive and quite lasting. It also leaves some nice lacing on the glass.

IMG_2668.JPG

IMG_2677.jpg

IMG_2701.jpg

The aroma is dominated by rhubarb, I noticed some very delicate and quite pleasant coriander. I couldn’t smell any acidity which would coincide with the lack of lactic acid bacterias among the beer ingredients.

The taste is really surprising. But in the good way :) The first Gose I had a chance to try was very salty, this one is very balanced instead. I would say dry with detectable coriander and rhubarb. A delicate salty aftertaste is present only at the end, but it is not intrusive. It is rather a great complement of the overall taste. There is practically no bitterness. The saturation is quite high which makes this beer very refreshing.

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

IMG_2686.JPG

To sum up, I must say that the Salty Barbara is very tasty beer. It is not delightful, but there are also no faults in it. In my humble opinion it is a great beer for someone who wants to taste a Gose style for the first time. Mostly because it’s not too salted and all flavours are perfectly balanced which makes this beer tasty and refreshing.

See how the www.ratebeer.com evaluates this beer

stopka_logo.png

Looking for more great beer posts?
Check out the top authors:

@buzzbeergeek, @beers, @detlev, @gensek

Sort:  

The beer looks great, I see you ignored the glass suggestion!! LOL

I see you ignored the glass suggestion!!

Yes, and no ;) Because the glass I used (it's called TeKu) is specially designed to be used by beer judges during beer competitions, and it is basically appropriate for all beer styles :)

But I admire your good eye and powers of observation :D I strongly encourage you to take a look at my past and future posts - if you like beer, I assure you won't be disappointed. Cheers!

Oh My Goodness. I'm sure Salty Barbara is in my DNA. And Rhubarb too? I'm going to be looking for this brand at our local brew. I might need to go to Milwaukee though instead. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59622.00
ETH 2549.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53