Beer review: Kraina Welesa from Perun Brewery

in #beer6 years ago

3en.png

I haven’t got a chance to try this beer before. I’m talking about my today’s tasting target, which is Kraina Welesa from Perun Brewery. The brewery name and the names of all their beers are a reference to the Slavic mythology. I like the idea a lot, so it is time to taste one of their beers.

Let me start with short characteristics and parameters of Kraina Welesa.

Style: Russian Imperial Stout
BLG: 19°
ABV: 7,2% *
IBU: 70
Malts: Pilsner, Munich, Wheat, Caramel, Roasted Barley, Chocolate
Additions: Oatmeal
Hops: Lunga (PL), Sybilla (PL)
Yeast: S04

*Every source I checked, including the brewery website, shows the information about 8,2% ABV. But on the bottle I bought, label says 7,2%. I guess there is some difference between the batches. Anyway, I’m tasting the version with 7,2% ABV.

Looking at the parameters makes me wonder “RIS and only 19°BLG? Strange, there supposed to be like 23, maybe 24, at least according to the theory. Well, we will see, maybe I don’t know nothing about beer.”

Personally, I like the label a lot. Admittedly, Its style may be considered as bizarre, but I don’t care - quite opposite to be honest. There is one thing I don’t like - there is no specific information about used malts and hops. I found that information very significant, that’s why I would like to see them here.

IMG_20180223_140516-2.jpg

IMG_20180223_140549-1-1.jpg

IMG_20180223_140745-1-1.jpg

The cap is modest - it shows only the brewery logo.

cap.jpg

When poured into a glass, the beer presents very well. It’s simply tarry black, basically without any reflections. The head has coffee beige color and it’s thick, but unfortunately, it doesn’t last long and it almost doesn’t leave any lacing on the glass. After few seconds it’s almost completely lost.

IMG_2585_2.jpg

IMG_2592.jpg

IMG_2605.JPG

The aroma of Kraina Welesa is not particularly intensive but stays there for the whole tasting period. It is dominated by coffee and roasted caramel. I can also smell quite strong dried plum and, unfortunately, some delicate alcohol, but to be honest, it’s not insistent and can be acclaimed negligible.

At first, there is a lot of dark chocolate and dried plums in the taste. In the end, in my opinion, the coffee takes over the domination (I felt like literally eating some roasted grains). The bitterness is quite pleasant, but I’ve got the feeling that it is not coming from the hops, but from the coffee, so information about 70 IBU seems a little bit exaggerated for me. There is no alcohol in the taste at all. The beer leaves a quite long roasted aftertaste in the mouth, but it seems to be very smooth at the same time. Very interesting feeling. The saturation is low, which only brings out the smoothness.

ezgif.com-resize.gif

IMG_2597_2.jpg

In my humble opinion, it is correct beer, but I’m also pretty sure it is far away from its the style definition. I think it is recommendable for the Stouts fans, especially for the beginners. But I would expect that the true RIS admirers may not be so enthusiastic about Kraina Welesa after trying it.

See how the www.ratebeer.com evaluates this beer

stopka_logo.png

Looking for more great beer posts?
Check out the top authors:

@buzzbeergeek, @beers, @detlev, @gensek

Sort:  

Congratulations @polishcraftbeers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50