One of the best beers in the world and it's generous, too!

in #beer7 years ago

Rochefort 6 Trappist Ale - mmmmm!

Please excuse the blasphemous glassware. My cherished Rochefort glass is presently sitting empty in storage thanks to my previous landlord and my current, temporary abode.

While Rochefort 12 is perhaps better known, as it's simply one of the most sumptuous ales out there, and a perfect nighty-night beer, Rochefort 6 equally has oodles of malty depth to it, while retaining a subtlety that offers perhaps a more laid-back experience.

IMG_20170724_224612.jpg

Now, one thing that Rochefort 6 offers on top of the joys of drinking it, is its very life-force. A while ago, I did this:

IMG_20160407_163724.jpg

A took a few samples of yeast sediment of several tasty beers, and attempted to revive them by feeding them wort (sugary grain extract). While others I tried, like Tripel Karmeliet and Saint Feuillin, didn't take - smelly results I can tell you - Rochefort 6 soon started eating everything I served it!

So I patiently built it up until I had what looked like a fair amount of viable yeast and brewed a gallon of beer with it. The result you can see below.

Now, there's always the possibility that the yeast that is used for bottle conditioning is not the same yeast that is used to brew the actual beer. So after all your trouble you may end up with a beer that does not live up to the reputation of its supposed heritage.

Honestly, it came out as one of the best beers I've brewed to date. It most definitely had the Rochefort signature to it. There was depth. There was flavour. There was sumptuousness! There just wasn't enough of it!

So this fall I'm intending to do this again, build up even more and do a lovely 3 gallon batch. I'll make sure to post the progress here. 😊

For now, cheers and good night!

IMG_20160727_003633.jpg

Sort:  

Yes please!

Upvoted... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09