Awww beer infection 😭

in #beer7 years ago

Of course I realised I should have taken a few more pictures just as I poured it down the drain, but if you look at the below picture closely - it's not nearly as clear as I would like (hah) - you can see horrid looking flaky bits floating all through my beer.

IMG_20170816_231208.jpg

I only saw them after a few big gulps while pondering how I would describe the unexpected flavours of this beer. It wasn't about to be a glowing review. More sour than I expected. Bit of dishwasher, bit of sock, that kind of thing.

Wild yeast I suspect, and probably somehow a dirty bottle got through the bottling line. The little rascals are everywhere.

Earlier I tried its bigger brother the Triple:

IMG_20170816_222029.jpg

The glass is about as far away from the official St-Idesbald one, as that is supposed to be an earthenware soup bowl of sorts, but that's ok. I didn't think the beer was all that amazing. Very gassy (and I like my beers sparkly) and not at all a lot was going on in terms of flavour, especially not for a beer that comes in at 9% alcohol.

But back to the sour mess. Here's another nice thing about beer; you don't have to worry too much about things going wrong. It may taste a bit funky, but it won't be dangerous. You can go ahead and take another swig just to know what an uninvited wild yeast tastes like.

In fact if you like the funk (there are many, many different wild yeasts out there, many of them right now on your body) feel free to just finish the whole thing and have a beer that no-one else in the world will have had! There are no harmful pathogens known to thrive in beer.

Beer is life-giving for people who deal with it responsibly, even when it goes its own way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43