You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homebrewing 101: Part 3 - 7 Days update

in #beer7 years ago

Are you sure with the readings of the hydrometer, or its accuracy? Because 95% attenuation, that you have seems impossible for me. 80-85% attenuation is possible, but this 95%... Wow!

Sort:  

Found the mistake. It seems I noted down the wrong readings when doing the post. I'm at 1008, almost 80%. I should have maybe waited a bit more, but it might still go a bit lower now even though the hops will slow this down.

Fixed numbers in the post.

Thank you!

That seems to be just right there! I think you cannot expect better performance than 80-82% of attenuation. The yeast have done a pretty good job. What yeast have you used with the beer?

Yes, that makes sense.
I've used the one that came with the kit. The yeast sachet simply says "Weiss Beer Yeast" no other markers. I've tried some other well known wheat beer yeasts but the included one seemed a lot better.

I've just parsed it through a homebrew calculator, and you're right! Something must be wrong somewhere. I'll have a quick look at the pics I've taken; 95% seems excessive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.03
ETH 2645.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69