You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homebrewing 101: Part 1 - Brew day

in #beer7 years ago

I think this "contamination" thing about the beer should not be such a great deal in the homebrew scenario. As soon as the hygiene is good, contamination is very difficult to achieve. No one of my past year's batches was sealed and insulated so tightly in the fermenter, not a single contamination. I also had difficulties trying to reasonably contaminate a sour-beer batch. Finally after 2 months I managed!
Good job with this article!

Sort:  

Thank you!

I agree with your contamination comment; I mentioned it because on all the forums I read up on when I first started out they talked about this but after speaking to my father in law I think it's mostly a change in yeasts; 10-20 years ago they didnt use to have these high performing yeasts that just outgrow every competing bacteria and it used to be a finicky process.
I sanitise everything, but I don't go crazy about it, I mean I still use tap water for my bear which is definitely not sterile anyway, but I think it's better to be safe than sorry.

I am thinking about dedicating one of my fermenters to a sour, I never brewed one and I think I should; I only got into the sour beers a couple of years ago; I never knew that I like them, which I guess is a common story for many :)

I spoke to the head brewer of one newly established craft brewery in Bulgaria and they don't use airlocks at all, which surprised me a little. So yes, if the yeast culture is pure, I think there should not be a problem at all.
I started brewing sours about half an year ago, but now I am waiting for the results. Raspberry sour stout and Sour Saison on their way now. I brewed a Berliner weisse too. And it became very good indeed!
Wish you good luck with brewing! Cheers!

Nice! Youve got some tasty sounding beers waiting to grow up, heh.

There's the lambics as well where fermentation happens in an open container with no cultured yeast and relying only on wild varieties.
I know time is the key for sours but I found a cheat recipe that promises a quick finishing sour so I might give that a go for my first one.

Wish you good luck! Today I'm brewing a Sorachi Ace Wit (all-grain) beer, so if I have time, I will post some info on my profile. Stay tuned! :)

Thank you!
I've heard about Sorachi Ace but never used it. Hopped wits are my favourite style so I'm sure that will turn out wonderful! I'm definitely going to check out your posts for updates on the brews!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46