The Big Island - The perfect babymoon getaway

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

My wife and I are on our babymoon. You know, the trip you take while she’s pregnant as it may be the last trip we take in a while. Well hopefully not the case. It will be the last trip we take together, just her and I as childless parents. Info release, my wife is 28 weeks pregnant 😍.

We chose to take a babymoon trip and decided upon Hawaii. We narrowed it down to the Big Island and chose Kona as our home base for a week.

Hawaiian cuisine has its glutinous side and healthier side. Well, together we chose the not so healthy side of having pulled pork, fried chicken, kimchi rice, and tuna macaroni salad. There will be a nice helping of poke in the near future.

It turns out we are staying within a half mile of Kona Brewing Co. What a delight! So, after our meal we stopped by the brewery so I could have a sampler of four beers I’ve never tasted. My wife had an iced nitro coffee which she enjoyed. Kona Brewing recently released a new beer called A-Bock-Alypse Now, which was one of my samples and I loved it. Just the name for a state that recently had a nuclear scare alert a few weeks ago. Whew!

We worked our way to exiting the brewpub and stepped up to the togo counter for takeaway beer. I looked over the set of mini glass growers available and found this beauty. My wife loves the mini growler for its colors and Hawaiian feel. I am about to pop open that mini growler and admire the beer as she admires the artwork on the growler.

E3DB5256-2CC6-4151-86CE-9EBAFD845948.jpeg
(photo taken in Kona Brewing Co’s parking lot, on a lava rock with tropical plants nearby, loved this scene)

We happened to get the growler during their growler happy hour. Mini growler filled with mmm beer for $9. What a deal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80