Is it really that good?

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

In the craft beer world, there are some stand out breweries that many people rave over. The majority are small, self-distributed, “sold at the brewery only types”.

You see picture after picture on Instagram, and read review after review about these “amazing” hard to find beers. I started to wonder..”Well, how much better are they that what I’ve been drinking?” Two weeks ago I was able to gain first hand knowledge.

I was on a business trip in California from the East coast. The premier brewery in that region is Monkish.

After a week of battling traffic in LA, my free night arrived, and so did my Uber(don’t be a reckless jerk)

I walked in and was welcomed by a cool, down to earth group of people. The seating area was full of a variety of people. The parking lot had everything from skateboards to Porsches. Quite interesting that all these people could bond over a fermented beverage.

I approached the counter and was slightly over whelmed by it all. I had no idea what to order. After a spot on suggestion by the tender, I went and sat down.
98B4C41E-F0A8-43B8-A0A2-FC8B6FC05215.jpeg
Ok, judgement time. I smelled the beer and it was heaven, but smell isnt everything, right? So I took a sip.
Before I could even begin to describe what I was tasting, I took another sip. I laughed to myself as I tried to describe what I was tasting. I couldn’t believe this beer was that good.

The floral scent and tropical juice flavors hid every bit of the alcohol. I will continue to compare every beer I drink to Monkish. They have it dialed in!
AD04A3B4-1718-4296-8CCB-2963923EAA45.jpeg

I even enjoyed their sour, it was fantastic!
832855A1-1D15-40D1-B24B-646A3E2A53C9.jpeg

If you’re out in the LA area, you need to go see them!
6C0E8106-7A32-4369-B5CA-E5F2D403CD93.jpeg

Sort:  

They look very nice brews

Thanks!
They do a fantastic job, and are very humble.

I'll be in LA in March, I'll have to give them a try. If you are ever in San Diego you will have to go to Stone Brewing Co. There beer is good but they also have some great beers from around the world to try. In 2014 I had a 2008 Pannepot Reserva from De Struise Brouwers of Belgium, it was wonderful. I was able to have it again a few years later when I travelled to Belgium. Belgium is a must travel location for any beer lover.

I’m looking forward to your opinion of Monkish.
I travel to San Diego as well, and love many places down there. Such an incredible craft beer scene!

That’s cool you were able to find it in Belgium. Sounds like it would be a great trip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54118.47
ETH 2272.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34