Wild Huckleberry Lager: An Amateurish Beer ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

Is this brew from the Great Northern Brewing Company of Whitefish, Montana a huckleberry heaven, or just hype?

20190312_185427.jpg

First, the stats. 4.5% alcohol by volume and 11 IBU suggest it's a bog-standard lager.

As a civilized and cultured individual of impeccable taste, I popped the tab and sipped straight from the can. It smells like lager and huckleberries. I'll buy the marketeering wankery printed on the side.

20190312_190301.jpg

I can also definitely taste the huckleberries. It blends well with the otherwise-mild lager. Fortunately, the base brew doesn't seem watery. The slightly-yeasty and not-very-hoppy beer doesn't try to compete with the berries. You know some Portland, Oregon hipster brewery would insist on a huckleberry IPA with hops that dominate everything. This is rather pleasant, I'd say

20190312_190749.jpg

All told, I recommend this beer if you want something tasty at the end of the workday. This fits the bill if you're interested in something to sip and savor. The can should be held with your pinky extended to demonstrate your refinement. Buy something else if you just want to chug a lot of suds to get drunk, though. Uncultured swine.

Sort:  

How does it compare to LaughingDog's Huckleberry beer? I'm generally not one for a lager but am always up for trying something new.

I haven't tried that one, so no comparisons can be drawn at the moment. Fruit beers aren't something I tend to drink.

@jacobtothe I do not drink but this really sounds good, I would like for my husband to try it, so I could sneak a taste.

You should just visit the inland northwest in early August and we can go huckleberrying!

@jacobtothe that sounds like fun, I love gathering wild food, or even just walking through the woods. I hope it is not like Vermont I went there in July and the high was 55 for the day, but it did not stop me from walking the woods, it was beautiful up there.

August gets reasonably hot. 90°F is common, and 100° is possible.

@jacobtothe that is my kind of weather.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80